The Roar
The Roar


New Zealand Warriors

The Warriors’ Leeson Ah Mau. (Photo by Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images)

Having joined the Australian Rugby League in 1995, the New Zealand Warriors struggled initially before enjoying regular finals appearances in the 2000s. The Warriors have made the Grand Final twice, in 2002 and 2011, but have come away empty-handed on both occasions.


The Warriors were a popular pick to fall out of the eight last season – and that’s exactly what happened. Topping the ladder after Round 1 was as good as it got for Warriors fans, with the side falling out of the top eight two weeks later and not coming close to recovering, finishing 13th.

With little happening in the way of exciting personnel news for 2020, the consistently inconsistent Warriors are a near-unanimous pick for the bottom four and potentially even a wooden spoon finish.

Senior coach: Stephen Kearney
Captain: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
2019 finish: 13th
Premierships: none

2020 squad
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (c), Bunty Afoa, Leeson Ah Mau, Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Lachlan Burr, Josh Curran, Wayde Egan, Jackson Frei, David Fusitu’a, Blake Green, Tohu Harris, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Patrick Herbert, Peta Hiku, Eliesa Katoa, Adam Keighran, Karl Lawton, Ken Maumalo, Taane Milne, Kodi Nikorima, Agnatius Paasi, Isaiah Papali’i, Hayze Perham, Adam Pompey, Leivaha Pulu, Nathaniel Roache, Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, Jazz Tevaga

More League content