New Zealand All Blacks

nz-all-blacks-iconThe All Blacks are New Zealand’s international rugby union team. They have consistently been the number one side in the world rugby rankings and continue to dominate opposition on a yearly basis.

Such is their dominance of the international scene, they have a winning record against every single other country and a winning percentage of over 70 against all but three rugby nations.

The heaviest loss in New Zealand Test rugby history was by a mere 21 points – a 28-7 loss to the Wallabies in 1999.

The All Blacks previously competed with South Africa and Australia in the Tri-Nations tournament, which they won ten times – more than the other two countries combined.

Those three nations now compete alongside Argentina for the Rugby Championship, which the All Blacks have won on five of the six times it’s been held.

New Zealand also contest the Bledisloe Cup with fierce rivals Australia. New Zealand have won the Bledisloe on 46 occasions, including the last 15 in succession.

Prior to hosting the 2011 Rugby World Cup the All Blacks did not have a good record at Rugby World Cup tournaments.

They won the William Webb-Ellis trophy during the inaugural Rugby World Cup tournament in 1987, but failed to lift the trophy for five consecutive tournaments despite being regarded as the number one team in the majority of those Rugby World Cups.

In the 2011 Rugby World Cup final, however, the All Blacks were able to erase a 24-year hoodoo by edging out France 8-7 at Eden Park. They tasted success again in 2015.

Last updated: 9 August, 2018