The Roar
The Roar


Crusaders vs Jaguares: Super Rugby Final live scores, blog

6th July, 2019
Live Comments



Match Complete



CRU19 : 3JAG

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
6th July, 2019
5475 Reads



Match Complete



R. Mo'unga74
R. Mo'unga58
R. Mo'unga53
R. Mo'unga42
R. Mo'unga26
C. Taylor24
15J. D. Bonilla

Penalty Goals
Field Goals

Show Preview

Match result:

The Crusaders have won their third straight Super Rugby title, beating the Jaguares by 16 points.

Final score

Crusaders 19
Jaguares 3

» Read the full match report.

Match preview:

The Crusaders will welcome the Jaguares to Christchurch for the Super Rugby Final as both teams look to make history. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage of what promises to be a thrilling decider from 5:35pm (AEST).

If the Crusaders win then they become the first team to ever claim three titles in a row. If the Jaguares take the trophy then it will be their first after entering the competition four years ago.

So we’re finally here. The final and it’s a combination of the predictable and the fairy tale surprise. Way back in February, when Round 1 kicked off the 2019 competition, there were plenty of people predicting the Crusaders would make another final but there weren’t many who expected the Jaguares to make it this far.


Now, it’s easy to say that the Crusaders are the firm favourites and the stats are certainly on their side. They’re unbeaten at home in their past 23 playoff games and have won their past 30 games at home as well.

There is a precedent for teams who have to travel overseas for the final winning the big one – it’s been done twice before. Unfortunately for the Jaguares, the only team to achieve this feat was ironically the Crusaders.

So no need to watch really is there? Well, accept that maybe there is, because this Jaguares side have something about them and maybe, just maybe the stars are beginning to align in their favour.

From a selection point of view, the Jaguares have managed to strengthen their team for this match. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Ramiro Moyano and Marcos Kremer have all returned to the starting line up and with them, they bring over 100 international Test caps. That’s the kind of experience you want in the biggest game of the season.

On the flip side, the Crusaders are missing two very key players – Scott Barrett and Ryan Crotty are both injured and will, unfortunately, miss the climax of the season they’ve both worked so hard for. Crotty is a big loss for the Crusaders especially considering he is key for organising their defence.

Add to this the fact that while the Jaguaess haven’t played the Crusaders this year, the Argentine side have won five of their last seven games in Australia and New Zealand. That usual trepidation of travelling for Super Rugby sides doesn’t seem to be part of the Jaguares’ make up this season.

There are some great match-ups all over the park but one of the most enthralling will be to see the two fly halves go head to head. Last week Richie Mo’unga arguably won the battle against All Blacks’ first choice Beauden Barrett. It will be exciting to see this week Mo’unga go up against Joaquin Diaz Bonilla who has been in great form this season and especially in the knockout stages.

In one game anything can happen and it does feel like if anyone can beat the Crusaders, it’s the Jaguares right now.


However, the Jags need everything go right for 80 minutes. The Crusaders have been guilty recently of not killing off teams and if they give the Jags a sniff then who knows what might happen.

In the end though, it’s impossible to bet against the Crusaders at home in a pressure game that they know all too much about.

Crusaders by 10.

Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of this decider, starting from 5:35pm (AEST) on Saturday.

Game information

Where: Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch
Date: Saturday 6th July 2019
When: Kick off 5:35pm (AEST)
TV: Fox Sports
Betting: Crusaders $1.18, Jaguares $4.75
Overall record: Played 2, Crusaders 2, Jaguares 0

Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referee: Mike Fraser, Paul Williams
TMO: Ben Skeen

15 David Havili
14 Sevu Reece
13 Braydon Ennor
12 Jack Goodhue
11 George Bridge
10 Richie Mo’unga
9 Bryn Hall
8 Kieran Read
7 Matt Todd
6 Whetukamokamo Douglas
5 Sam Whitelock (c)
4 Mitchell Dunshea
3 Owen Franks
2 Codie Taylor
1 Joe Moody


16 Andrew Makalio
17 George Bower
18 Michael Alaalatoa
19 Luke Romano
20 Jordan Taufua
21 Mitchell Drummond
22 Mitchell Hunt
23 Will Jordan

15 Emiliano Boffelli
14 Matias Moroni
13 Matias Orlando
12 Jeronimo De La Fuente (c)
11 Ramiro Moyano
10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla
9 Tomas Cubelli
8 Javier Ortega Desio
7 Marcos Kremer
6 Pablo Matera
5 Tomas Lavanini
4 Guido Petti
3 Santiago Medrano
2 Agustin Creevy
1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

16 Julian Montoya
17 Mayco Vivas
18 Enrique Pieretto
19 Juan Manuel Leguizamon
20 Tomas Lezana
21 Felipe Ezcurra
22 Domingo Miotti
23 Sebastian Cancelliere

Hide Preview