The Roar
The Roar


Wallabies feeling Bledis-LOW: See how clinical All Blacks ran riot in Game 3

5th September, 2021
Live Comments



Match Complete

New Zealand


AUS21 : 38NEW

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
5th September, 2021
14476 Reads



Match Complete

New Zealand


R. Hodge78
T. Banks78
71G. Bridge
68A. Lienert-Brown
R. Hodge66
N. White65
60D. Havili
54W. Jordan
N. Lolesio50
F. Fainga'a49
39D. Havili
17B. Barrett
16J. Barrett
14B. Barrett
8B. Barrett

Penalty Goals
Field Goals

Show Preview

The Wallabies and All Blacks travel to Perth to wrap up the Bledisloe Series and continue the Rugby Championship today from 4:00pm AEST.

While the Bledisloe Cup might be New Zealand bound for another year, this Test is very important for both sides’ chances in the Rugby Championship so expect to see both teams go hard for the win. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog starting from 3:50pm (AEST).

Both coaches have made a number of changes for this test in WA – some forced and some about evolving strategies. For the Wallabies, Dave Rennie has made a number of changes with the biggest being the quick return to the starting lineup of Samu Kerevi who hasn’t played for the Wallabies for two years.

Izack Rodda gets a spot on the bench after his year playing for Lyon and will be back up for the starting second row combo of Darcy Swain and Matt Philip.

In the front row, Folau Fainga’a gets his first taste of international rugby in 2021 and will start in an all Brumbies front row.

In the backs, Rennie has resisted the temptation to give Quade Cooper a return to the gold jersey and has stuck with Noah Lolesio who will again partner Tate McDermott in the halves.

The Wallabies bench looks exciting with the likes of Taniela Tupou, Pete Samu and Jordan Petaia likely to have an impact in the second half.

From a tactics point of view, the Wallabies will know that they have to focus on a strong set-piece and pinpoint kicking to try and get early dominance over the All Blacks. It’s a simple game plan but it’s crucial if the Aussies are to keep the Kiwis under control.

Ian Foster has also made a number of changes with Brad Weber getting a start at scrum-half, and then all three Barrett brothers moving from the bench to the starting line up. They replace Sam Whitelock, Richie Mo’unga and Damian McKenzie. All eyes will be on Beauden to see how he tries to wrestle back the #10 jersey from Mo’unga – not an easy task after the way the Crusaders star has played this season at all levels.


Anton Lienert-Brown returns to the centres meaning Rieko Ioane is on the wing whilst on the bench it’s interesting to see Ethan Blackadder named and hopefully the back rower will get some game time after playing against Tonga and Fiji earlier this year.

Quite a few changes for the All Blacks and combined with the various quarantine requirements they’ve had to go through, one wonders how settled they will be going into this game.

The Wallabies will be desperate to show that they are not just the punch bag for the heavyweight All Blacks and hopefully Rennie’s sticking with some of his youngsters will give them the confidence to play to their potential. But even on home ground, the All Blacks are firm favourites and will win through in the end.

All Blacks by 12.

Game information
Venue: Optus Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 4:00pm (AEST)
TV: 9Gem
Live stream: Stan Sport
Betting: New Zealand $1.12, Australia $6.10 – odds via PlayUp
Referee: Damon Murphy


1. James Slipper, 2. Folau Fainga’a, 3. Allan Alaalatoa, 4. Darcy Swain, 5. Matt Philip, 6. Lachlan Swinton, 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Rob Valetini, 9. Tate McDermott, 10. Noah Lolesio, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Samu Kerevi, 13. Len Ikitau, 14. Andrew Kellaway, 15. Tom Banks

Replacements: 16. Lachlan Lonergan, 17. Angus Bell, 18. Taniela Tupou, 19. Izack Rodda, 20. Pete Samu, 21. Nic White, 22. Reece Hodge, 23. Jordan Petaia


New Zealand
15. Jordie Barrett, 14. Will Jordan, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 12. David Havili, 11. Rieko Ioane, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. Brad Weber, 8. Ardie Savea (c), 7. Dalton Papalii, 6. Akira Ioane, 5. Scott Barrett, 4. Brodie Retallick, 3. Nepo Laulala, 2. Codie Taylor, 1. George Bower

Replacements: 16. Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17. Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Tupou Vaa’i, 20. Ethan Blackadder, 21. TJ Perenara, 22. Damian McKenzie, 23. George Bridge

Hide Preview