The Roar
The Roar


Rugby World Cup 2019

The All Blacks are the defending World Cup champions. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

After the success of its inaugural tournament back in 1987, the Rugby Union World Cup is now considered one of the most important sporting tournaments in the world. Held every four years, the Rugby World Cup is contested by 20 nations who are put in four groups of five teams each.

The 2019 Rugby World Cup, the ninth in the competition’s history, will be held in Japan between the 20th of September and the 2nd of November, and will be the first time that the tournament has ever been held in Asia. The final will be played at the Yokohama Stadium in Kanagawa.

The Roar will have extensive coverage of the World Cup from kickoff of the first match until beyond the final whistle being blown on the decider.

The teams contesting the 2019 World Cup are as follows;

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Ireland New Zealand England Australia
Scotland South Africa France Wales
Japan Italy Argentina Georgia
Russia Namibia United States Fiji
Samoa Canada Tonga Uruguay

Each team plays the other countries in their pool once. The top two teams progress to the quarter-finals and the others are eliminated – although teams who finish third in their group are at least granted automatic qualification to the next World Cup.

The winner of the tournament is awarded the Webb Ellis trophy. The most successful World Cup nation is New Zealand, who have won three tournaments, followed by South Africa and Australia, who have won two tournaments each. England have won one tournament.

The full list of venues for the 2019 World Cup is as follows:

  • Sapporo Dome, Sapporo City
  • Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Iwate Prefecture/Kamaishi City
  • Kumagaya Rugby Ground, Saitama Prefecture/Kumagaya City
  • New National Stadium Japan, Tokyo
  • International Stadium Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture/Yokohama City
  • Ogasayama Sports Park Ecopa Stadium, Shizuoka Prefecture
  • Toyota Stadium, Aichi Prefecture/Toyota City
  • Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Osaka Prefecture/Higashi Osaka City
  • Kobe City Misaki Park Stadium, Kobe City
  • Hakatanomori Football Stadium, Fukuoka City
  • Kumamoto Prefectural Athletic Stadium, Kumamoto Prefecture/Kumamoto City
  • Oita Stadium, Oita Prefecture

More Rugby content