The Roar
The Roar



Jesse Kriel and his Bulls teammates in action in Super Rugby. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Blue Bulls

As one of Super Rugby’s foundation clubs in 1996, the Bulls endured a rough beginning, claiming three early wooden spoons, but have since gone on to become South African’s most successful side. The Bulls represent the city of Pretoria as well as the northernmost province, Limpopo.

While the Pretoria-based side made all the right moves in terms of moving towards long-term success, analysts agreed that the 2019 season was probably too early to see significantly better results.

But the Bulls proved themselves to be better than expected in 2019, never losing consecutive matches in a surprisingly consistent campaign. They finished fifth but went down to the Hurricanes in the quarter-finals, 35-28.


Coach: Pote Human
Captain: Lood de Jager
2018 finish: 2nd South African conference, 5th overall. Lost quarter-final to Hurricanes.
Titles: 2007, 2009, 2010

Bulls 2019 Super Rugby squad
Lood de Jager (c), Matthys Basson, Lizo Gqoboka, Madot Mabokela, Simphiwe Matanzima, Nqoba Mxoli, Trevor Nyakane, Dayan van der Westhuizen, Conraad van Vuuren, Frans van Wyk, Schalk Brits, Johan Grobbelaar, Edgar Marutlulle, Jaco Visagie, Jason Jenkins, RG Snyman, Hendre Stassen, Tim Agaba, Thembelani Bholi, Nick de Jager, Carel du Preez, Jannes Kirsten, Paul Schoeman, Roelof Smit, Ruan Steenkamp, Muller Uys, Marco van Staden, Hanro Liebenberg, Jano Venter, Duane Vermeulen, Theo Maree, Embrose Papier, Ivan van Zyl, Andre Warner, Marnitz Boshoff, Manie Libbok, Handre Pollard, Stedman Gans, JT Jackson, Johnny Kotze, Jesse Kriel, Franco Naude, Burger Odendaal, Dylan Sage, Cornal Hendricks, Travis Ismaiel, Duncan Matthews, Rosko Specman, Jade Stighling, Warrick Gelant, Divan Rossouw

More Rugby content