The Roar
The Roar



Canterbury Crusaders

Despite finishing its maiden Super Rugby season in 1996 in last position, the Crusaders have since become the superpower of Super Rugby competition, winning eight titles in all to become the most successful club in the competition’s history.

The Canterbury-based club got back to the summit after a nine-year absence, winning their record eighth championship after a win over the Lions in the grand final. It capped off a dominant season that saw the Crusaders lose just one game, finishing atop their conference and group with ease.

The 2018 Super Rugby draw can be found here.

Coach: Scott Robertson
Captain: Sam Whitelock
2017 finish: 1st New Zealand conference, 1st Australasian group, 2nd overall (Champions after finals)
Titles: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2017

Crusaders 2018 Super Rugby Squad:
Ben Funnell, Andrew Makalio, Codie Taylor, Mike Alaalatoa, Wyatt Crockett, Owen Franks, Oliver Jager, Joe Moody, Tim Perry, Scott Barrett, Mitchell Dunshea, Luke Romano, Quinten Strange, Sam Whitelock, Ethan Blackadder, Billy Harmon, Kieran Read, Tom Sanders, Pete Samu, Jordan Taufua, Matt Todd, Mitchell Drummond, Bryn Hall, Jack Stratton, Mike Delany, Mitchell Hunt, Richie Mo’unga, Tim Bateman, Ryan Crotty, Jack Goodhue, Braydon Ennor, George Bridge, Israel Dagg, David Havili, Will Jordan, Jone Macilai, Manasa Mataele, Seta Tamanivalu

[latest_videos_strip category=”rugby” name=”Rugby”]