The Roar
The Roar



TJ Perenara of the Hurricanes makes a break. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

Wellington Hurricanes

The Hurricanes, or ‘Canes, are a rugby union franchise that represents Wellington, New Zealand and the nation’s lower North Island in the Super Rugby tournament. The side is one of the competition’s founding teams that competed in its inaugural year.

It was another good season for the Hurricanes in 2018, with a ten-game winning streak propelling them to the ladder’s higher rungs, before a poor finish to the year stopped them from finish first. They defeated the Chiefs in a qualifier, but were soundly beaten by the Crusaders in their semi-final.

With talent to burn in just about every position on the ground, the Hurricanes are widely tipped to feature at the pointy end of the season once more.


Coach: Chris Boyd
Captain: Dane Coles
2018 finish: 2nd New Zealand conference, 4th overall. Lost semi-final to Crusaders.
Titles: 2016

Hurricanes 2019 Super Rugby squad
Fraser Armstrong, Chris Eves, Alex Fidow, Ben May, Toby Smith, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Ricky Riccitelli, James Blackwell, Geoff Cridge, Sam Lousi, Liam Mitchell, Isaia Walker-Leawere, Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, Vaea Fifita, Sam Henwood, Du’Plessis Kirifi, Reed Prinsep, Ardie Savea, Gareth Evans, Finlay Christie, Richard Judd, TJ Perenara, Beauden Barrett, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Fletcher Smith, Vince Aso, Wes Goosen, Ngani Laumape, Billy Proctor, Matt Proctor, Ben Lam, Jonah Lowe, James Marshall, Salesi Rayasi, Jordie Barrett, Nehe Milner-Skudder.

More Rugby content