The Roar
The Roar



Agustin Creevy of Jaguares. (Photo by Gabriel Rossi/Getty Images)

jaguares logo

The Jaguares are the first Argentinian team to participate in Super Rugby, making their inaugural appearance in the competition in the 2016 season. They play their home games at the Jose Amalfitani stadium in Buenos Aires.

The Argentinian side were very competitive in 2018, winning nine games as they continued to improve from their troubled beginnings. They featured in their first ever finals campaign, but were taken care of by the Lions in that quarter-final.

The impact of a new coach and captain at the club has made analysts hesitant to pick them as a big improver in 2019. They should, however, be on track to repeat their top eight finish from a year ago.


Coach: Gonzalo Quesada
Captain: Pablo Matera
2018 finish: 2nd South African conference, 7th overall

Jaguars 2019 Super Rugby squad
Pablo Matera (c), Agustin Creevy, Bautista Ezcurra, Bautista Delguy, Diego Fortuny, Domingo Miotti, Emiliano Boffelli, Enrique Pieretto, Franco Molina, Gaspar Baldunciel, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Gonzalo Bertranou, Ignacio Mendy, Javier Diaz, Javier Ortega Desio, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Joaquin Tuculet, Juan Cruz Mallia, Juan Pablo Zeiss, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Julian Montoya, Lucas Paulos, Lucio Sordoni, Marcos Kremer, Martin Landajo, Matias Alemanno, Matias Moroni, Matias Orlando, Mayco Vivas, Nahual Tetaz Chaparro, Ramiro Moyano, Rodrigo Bruni, Santiago Carreras, Santiago Chocobares, Santiago Garcia Botta, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Santiago Grondona, Santiago Medrano, Sebastian Cancelliere, Tomas Cubelli, Tomas Lavanini, Tomas Lezana

More Rugby content