The Wallabies represent Australia internationally in rugby union, and are consistently one of the highest-ranked rugby teams in the world.

The Wallabies hold the distinction of having competed in all eight editions of the Rugby World Cup, having won the tournament twice, finished runners-up twice, while making the semi-finals and quarter-finals twice each too.

The Wallabies, along with the All Blacks and Springboks, are one of the most successful nations in World Cup history winning the Webb Ellis Trophy on two occasions, while also losing a final at home to England in 2003.

They took sweet revenge in 2015, knocking England out of their home tournament in the pool stages and went on to face the All Blacks in the final at Twickenham.

The Wallabies compete in the annual Rugby Championship tournament with New Zealand, South Africa, and Argentina, which is a four-team tournament that evolved from the Tri-Nations in 2012 to include the South American team.

The Wallabies have won the Tri-Nations on three occasions – in 2000, 2001 and 2011 – and most recently won the Rugby Championship in 2015.

Australia’s rivalry with the All Blacks culminates in the showdown for the Bledisloe Cup, which the Wallabies have held 12 times in the history of competing for the trophy.

The Wallabies

In addition to the All Blacks and Springboks, the Wallabies also have firmly-established rivalries with England and France and compete for the Cook Cup and Trophee des Bicentenaires respectively.

Former captain George Gregan currently holds the record for the highest-capped Wallabies player, having played in the green and gold 139 times, 59 of those as captain.

Flanker George Smith remains the most-capped forward, having represented Australia on 110 occasions. David Campese holds the record for the most Wallabies tries scored, while Michael Lynagh remains the Wallabies all-time leading point-scorer, with 911.

Michael Cheika is the current head coach of the Wallabies, having taken the reigns from former coach Ewen McKenzie, who resigned in October 2014.

Last updated: 26 July, 2018