The Roar
The Roar


2022 Australian Open

(Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The 2022 Australian Open ran from Monday, January 17 until Sunday, January 30.

Australia’s Ash Barty claimed her third grand slam title and first Australian Open title by defeating Danielle Collins in the women’s singles. It was the first time an Australian woman had won since 1978.

Rafael Nadal became the first man to notch 21 grand slam titles by defeating Daniil Medvedev in the men’s final in a 5 hour epic. Nadal came from two sets down to win the match.

Current Champions:

Men’s singles – Rafael Nadal
Women’s singles – Ash Barty
Men’s doubles – Nick Kyrgios/Thanasi Kokkinakis
Women’s doubles – Barbora Krejčíková / Czech Republic Kateřina Siniaková
Mixed doubles – Kristina Mladenovic / Croatia Ivan Dodig
Men’s wheelchair singles – Shingo Kunieda
Women’s wheelchair singles – Diede de Groot
Wheelchair quad singles – Sam Schröder
Wheelchair men’s doubles – Alfie Hewett / United Kingdom Gordon Reid
Wheelchair women’s doubles – Diede de Groot / Netherlands Aniek van Koot
Wheelchair quad doubles – Andy Lapthorne / United States David Wagner
Boys singles – Bruno Kuzuhara
Girls singles – Petra Marčinko
Boys doubles – Bruno Kuzuhara / Hong Kong Coleman Wong
Girls doubles – Clervie Ngounoue / Russia Diana Shnaider

Beginning in 1905, the competition was originally played on grass, until the switch was made to Rebound Ace in 1988. In 2008 the shift to the current playing surface, Plexicushion, was made.

Novak Djokovic holds the record for the most Australian Open men’s singles titles, with nine. Margaret Court (after which one of the Open’s main venues is named) holds the record for most women’s singles titles, with 11.

There was huge controversy before the tournament even got underway with Djokovic denied entry to Australia after a visa bungle.

Crowd records have consistently been broken during the last few years, with more than 780,000 people attending across the course of the fortnight in 2019, making the event the best attended Grand Slam.


2022 schedule

Day Date Start time (AEDT) Matches
1 Mon Jan 17 11:00am Men’s and women’s first round
2 Tue Jan 18 11:00am Men’s and women’s first round
3 Wed Jan 19 11:00am Men’s and women’s second round
4 Thu Jan 20 11:00am Men’s and women’s second round
5 Fri Jan 21 11:00am Men’s and women’s third round
6 Sat Jan 22 11:00am Men’s and women’s third round
7 Sun Jan 23 11:00am Men’s and women’s fourth round
8 Mon Jan 24 11:00am Men’s and women’s fourth round
9 Tue Jan 25 11:00am Men’s and women’s quarter-finals
9 Wed Jan 26 11:00am Men’s and women’s quarter-finals
10 Thu Jan 27 From 3:00pm (Women’s matches in prime time) Women’s semi-finals, men’s first semi-final
11 Fri Jan 28 3:00pm Men’s second semi-final, mixed doubles semi-finals, women’s doubles final
12 Sat Jan 29 From 1:00pm (Women’s final in prime-time) Women’s final, men’s doubles final
13 Sun Jan 30 4:30pm Men’s final, mixed doubles final

The tournament is broadcast on the Nine Network for Australian viewers.


Looking for another Grand Slam?
» French Open
» Wimbledon
» US Open

More Tennis content