The Roar
The Roar


Kei Nishikori vs Daniil Medvedev: Brisbane International men's singles final tennis live scores, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
6th January, 2019

Show Preview

Match result:

Kei Nishikori took the men’s singles title at the 2019 Brisbane International, dropping the second set to Daniil Medvedev but securing victory in the third.

Final score
Kei Nishikori 6 3 6
Daniil Medvedev 4 6 2

Match preview:

The No.2 and No.4 seeds, Kei Nishikori and Daniil Medvedev respectively, will battle it out tonight on Pat Rafter Arena in the Brisbane International ATP final. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 8pm (AEDT).

After a slow start to 2018, Kei Nishikori’s world ranking was back up to 9 by year end, helped along by a US open semi final appearance and late season finals in Tokyo and Vienna.

After a first round bye, Nishikori has won through to the final without dropping a set, the biggest win being his 7-5 7-5 win over Grigor Dimitrov. He got to the final with a very comfortable 6-2 6-2 win over Jerome Chardy.

Despite his high ranking, Nishikori’s last ATP title win was back in 2016, so he will be very keen to get the win tonight and silence any doubters.

Daniil Medvedev, at 22 years of age, is one of the young guns looking to make their mark on the ATP tour. By the end of the 2018 season, his ranking had risen to 16 and it feels like the only way is up.


Medvedev won three titles in 2018 – Sydney, Winston-Salem and, most recently, Tokyo. The most relevant thing about Tokyo is that Medvedev defeated Nishikori 6-2 6-4 in the final.

Medvedev has survived a tough draw on the way to the final, taking out Andy Murray, Milos Raonic and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga.

As finals should be, this is a toss of the coin job.

Kei Nishikori won’t be short of motivation, looking to atone for his disappointing loss to Daniil Medvedev in Tokyo.

I think that will prove to be just enough, with Nishikori winning a very evenly matched contest.

Nishikori in 3 sets.

Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 8pm (AEDT).

Hide Preview