NRL All Stars vs Indigenous All Stars: live scores, blog

113 Have your say

Popular article! 11,227 reads

    The prestigious Arthur Beetson trophy goes on the line tonight as the NRL and Indigenous All Stars clash to signal the arrival of the 2012 NRL season. Join us for live scores and blog from 7:30pm AEDT

    Now in its third year, the 2012 Indigenous All Stars match promises to be an exciting affair, given that both sides possess some of the NRL’s most lethal attacking talents.

    The Indigenous All Stars line-up makes do with two of the NRL’s leading tryscorers last season in Ben Barba and Nathan Merritt.

    Throw in established superstars Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges and Johnathon Thurston into the mix and the Indigenous backline could easily rival the Queensland Origin backline that has tormented NSW over the past six years.

    The NRL All Stars however possess plenty of firepower of their own, with captain Benji Marshall, Josh Dugan and Cooper Cronk heading the list of players capable of producing points in an instant.

    Prediction: Given that both teams possess great offensive capabilities, the side that controls possession tonight will go a long way towards winning the Arthur Beetson trophy.

    The battle between superstar halves Thurston and Marshall will also prove vital in determining which side emerges victorious.

    At their best, Marshall and Thurston are the NRL’s leading playmakers, and both players will be looking to use their great ball playing skills in order to involve the devastating backlines they possess at their disposal.

    If both teams play their best here, one still favours the Indigenous All Stars to triumph tonight. The reason being that, unlike the NRL All Stars backline, the Indigenous All Stars possess players who have all played with one another at State of Origin level.

    Thurston, Hodges, Inglis and Yow Yeh already know each other’s games pretty well, so one would expect that the chemistry in the Indigenous All Stars side will take less time to spark in comparison to their NRL counterparts.

    Regardless, this should be a high scoring and entertaining affair that should get fans well in the mood for season 2012.

    Indigenous All Stars to win.


    Indigenous All Stars:

    1. Ben Barba
    2. Jharal Yow Yeh
    3. Greg Inglis
    4. Justin Hodges
    5. Nathan Merritt
    6. Johnathan Thurston (c)
    7. Chris Sandow
    8. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs
    9. Travis Waddell
    10. George Rose
    11. Sam Thaiday
    12. Jamal Idris
    13. Greg Bird


    14. Andrew Fifita
    15. Cory Paterson
    16. Matthew Bowen
    17. Scott Prince
    18. Anthony Mitchell
    19. Joel Thompson
    20. Nathan Peats

    NRL All Stars:

    1.Josh Dugan
    2.Jason Nightingale
    3.Jack Reed*
    4.Michael Jennings
    5.Manu Vatuvei
    6.Benji Marshall – (c)
    7.Cooper Cronk
    8.Kade Snowden
    9. Aaron Payne
    10.Luke Bailey
    11.Nathan Hindmarsh
    12.David Taylor
    13.Paul Gallen


    14.Adam Blair
    15.Frank Pritchard
    16.Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
    17.Anthony Watmough
    18.Nathan Fien
    19. Brent Tate
    20. Luke Lewis

    This crunching tackle is the most viewed Club Roar video of all time! It's in the running to win a share of $10,000.
    Watch the full video here