The Roar
The Roar

Advertisement

NBA live stream and TV Guide - How to watch the NBA in Australia

LeBron James (Steve Dykes/Getty Images)

The NBA is one of the most popular sports leagues in the world and, with more and more Aussies plying their trade in the States, you won’t want to miss any of the action this season. Here’s all the info you need to make sure you can watch the NBA via live stream or on TV in Australia.

Of course, if you’re more interested in watching Australia’s Ben Simmons, head over to our Ben Simmons NBA fixtures page.

Australian NBA television 2021-22 schedule

All times and dates below are listed in AEDT/AEST (Sydney/Melbourne time)

Date Fixture Time Broadcast
Wed Oct 20 Nets vs Bucks 10:30am ESPN
Wed Oct 20 Warriors vs Lakers 1pm ESPN
Thu Oct 21 Knicks vs Celtics 10:45am ESPN
Thu Oct 21 Suns vs Nuggets 1:05pm ESPN
Fri Oct 22 Mavericks vs Hawks 10:30am ESPN
Sat Oct 23 Lakers vs Suns 1:05pm ESPN
Sun Oct 24 Raptors vs Mavericks 10:30am ESPN
Sun Oct 24 Suns vs Trail Blazers 1pm SBS
Mon Oct 25 Lakers vs Grizzlies 12:30pm SBS
Wed Oct 27 Nuggets vs Jazz 1pm ESPN
Thu Oct 28 Hawks vs Pelicans 10:45am ESPN
Thu Oct 28 Grizzlies vs Trail Blazers 1:05pm ESPN
Sun Oct 31 Hawks vs 76ers 10:30am SBS
Mon Nov 1 Pistons vs Nets 10:30am SBS
Fri Nov 5 Celtics vs Heat 10:30am SBS
Sun Nov 7 Celtics vs Mavericks 11:30am SBS
Sat Nov 13 Hawks vs Nuggets 1pm SBS
Sun Nov 14 Heat vs Jazz 9am SBS
Sun Nov 21 Pelicans vs Pacers 11am SBS
Mon Nov 22 Lakers vs Pistons 10am SBS
Sat Nov 27 Bucks vs Nuggets 1pm SBS
Sun Nov 28 Wizards vs Mavericks 12:30pm SBS
Sat Dec 4 Pelicans vs Mavericks 12:30pm SBS
Sun Dec 5 Spurs vs Warriors 12:30pm SBS
Fri Dec 10 Lakers vs Grizzlies 12pm SBS
Mon Dec 13 Nets vs Pistons 10am SBS
Sat Dec 18 Spurs vs Jazz 1pm SBS
Mon Dec 20 Nuggets vs Nets 11:30am SBS
Fri Dec 24 Hawks vs 76ers 11am SBS
Tue Dec 28 Rockets vs Hornets 11am SBS
Sun Jan 2 Clippers vs Nets 11:30am SBS
Mon Jan 3 Mavericks vs Thunder 11am SBS

NBA League Pass Australia

If you want to be able to watch each and every game this NBA season, then the league’s digital streaming service, NBA League Pass, is your best option. League Pass has three options.

The cheapest option, coming in at $149.99 for the season, is the ‘eight-game choice’ package, which lets you pick any eight games each month to stream in HD. You’ll also have access to some NBA TV studio content as well, but the package only allows you to view condensed replays of matches – not full ones – and has no options for live audio.

Another option is the Team Pass which, for $169.99 for the season, allows you to stream every game for the season for one team. This option includes live audio – only for the team you pick – as well as full replays of select historical matches from your team. Again, however, this option does not allow for on-demand full replays.

Advertisement

The ‘main’ option is League Pass. It runs you $299.99 a season, but allows you to watch every game of the season live and in HD – as well as enjoy live audio. You’ll also have access to select historic matches from every team but, again, this package only gives you condensed replays.

If you want those on-demand full replays, you’ll need to fork out $389.99 for the League Pass Premium package. This option gives you all the features of every other package, plus the option to watch full replays on demand, as well as stream on two devices at once.

Pay TV

If League Pass is a bit over the top for you, you can always watch basketball’s premier competition on pay TV. If that sounds like your cup of tea, then you’re in luck; ESPN, the channel which owns the NBA broadcast rights in Australia, doubled their coverage of the competition a few years ago, with a minimum of five live games per week.

Aussie hoops fans get 190 matches per season under the current agreement, including the playoffs, finals, All-Star weekend, and all the big regular season games. Normally, it’s broken down with a double-header on Thursday with games on Friday, Saturday, Sunday and at least one earlier in the week.

A Foxtel subscription with the sports package included will get you access to ESPN, and comes in at a cost of $51 per month.

You can, however, stream all of ESPN’s NBA content through Kayo Sports, which allows you to view all of Foxtel’s sporting content on your preferred mobile device for just $25 a month.

This season, free-to-air broadcaster SBS have also jumped in on the action, giving Aussie hoops fans even more content. You can also catch some matches on the MIA app, which has a bunch of augmented reality features to enhance the experience. This service requires a separate subscription fee, however.

Advertisement

NBA Playoffs and Finals

ESPN will show a number of games from the first two rounds of the playoffs, before they show every game of the Conference Finals and Finals.

More US Sports content

close