The Roar
The Roar

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

NBA live stream and TV Guide - How to watch the NBA in Australia

Utah Jazz guard Dante ExumThe NBA is one of the most popular sports leagues in the world, and with more and more Aussie playing their trade in States, you won’t want to miss any of the action this season. Here’s all the info you need to make sure you can watch the NBA via live stream or on TV in Australia.

Of course, if you’re more interested in watching Australia’s latest basketball sensation, Ben Simmons, head over to our Ben Simmons NBA fixtures page.

NBA League Pass Australia

If you want to be able to watch each and every game this NBA season, then the league’s digital streaming service, NBA League Pass, is your best option. League Pass has three options.

The cheapest option, coming in at $11.99 per month, is an NBA TV package, which provides you with up to ten games per week live and in high definition as well as 24/7 programming from NBA TV. However, you can’t watch any games on-demand and many of the best games each week – such as the All-Star game – aren’t available.

The standard League Pass package lets you watch every game of the year live or on demand, also in high definition. You’ll be able to check out all the action from the pre-season, regular season, All-Star weekend and the playoffs. You won’t however, get access to NBA TV. This package will set you back $37.99 per month.

For the best of both worlds, there is a premium package available for the maddest of basketball fans. For the rather dear price of $44.99 each month, you’ll get every game of the year – pre-season, All-Star weekend, playoffs and finals included – live and on demand, as well as access to NBA TV.

Note that season packages go on sale on September 27, and prices may change before then.

Pay TV

Advertisement
Advertisement

If League Pass is a bit over the top for you, you can always watch basketball’s premier competition on pay TV. If that sounds like your cup of tea, then you’re in luck; ESPN, the channel which owns the NBA broadcast rights in Australia, doubled their coverage of the competition in 2016-17 and it will remain that way in 2017-18.

Aussie hoops fans get 188 matches per season under the current agreement, including the playoffs, finals, All-Star weekend, and all the big regular season games. Normally, it’s broken down with a double-header on Thursday with games on Friday, Saturday, Sunday and at least one earlier in the week.

A Foxtel subscription with the sports package included will get you access to ESPN, and comes in at a cost of $51 per month.

NBA Playoffs and Finals

ESPN will show a number of games from the first two rounds of the playoffs, before they show every game of the Conference Finals and Finals through the end of May and first half of June.

More details will be updated on this page as they come to hand with regards to the finals.

Australian NBA televesion 2017-18 schedule

Note that all times are in AEDT until Sunday, April 1, when they revert to AEST.

Advertisement
Advertisement

The full schedule was announced on August 15. The season got underway on Tuesday, October 17 (Wednesday, October 18 AEST) and will finish in April.

Below is ESPN’s schedule of matches to be shown in Australia in 2017-18.

Date Time Home Away
Wed Oct 18 11:00 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Boston Celtics
Wed Oct 18 1:30 PM Golden State Warriors Houston Rockets
Thu Oct 19 10:00 AM Washington Wizards Philadelphia 76ers
Thu Oct 19 12:30 PM San Antonio Spurs Minnesota Timberwolves
Fri Oct 20 11:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder New York Knicks
Fri Oct 20 1:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Los Angeles Clippers
Sat Oct 21 10:00 AM Milwaukee Bucks Cleveland Cavaliers
Sat Oct 21 12:30 PM New Orleans Pelicans Golden State Warriors
Sun Oct 22 12:00 PM Utah Jazz Oklahoma City Thunder
Thu Oct 26 1:30 PM Miami Heat San Antonio Spurs
Fri Oct 27 11:00 AM Milwaukee Bucks Boston Celtics
Fri Oct 27 1:30 PM Sacramento Kings New Orleans Pelicans
Sat Oct 28 11:00 AM Minnesota Timberwolves Oklahoma City Thunder
Sun Oct 29 11:00 AM Miami Heat Boston Celtics
Thu Nov 2 11:00 AM New York Knicks Houston Rockets
Thu Nov 2 1:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Dallas Mavericks
Fri Nov 3 11:00 AM San Antonio Spurs Golden State Warriors
Fri Nov 3 1:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Los Angeles Lakers
Sat Nov 4 10:00 AM Washington Wizards Cleveland Cavaliers
Sat Nov 4 12:30 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Boston Celtics
Sun Nov 5 12:00 PM Denver Nuggets Golden State Warriors
Thu Nov 9 11:00 AM Boston Celtics Los Angeles Lakers
Thu Nov 9 1:30 PM Golden State Warriors Minnesota Timberwolves
Fri Nov 10 11:00 AM Houston Rockets Cleveland Cavaliers
Fri Nov 10 1:30 PM Denver Nuggets Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Nov 11 12:00 PM San Antonio Spurs Milwaukee Bucks
Sun Nov 12 11:30 AM Golden State Warriors Philadelphia 76ers
Thu Nov 16 11:00 AM Charlotte Hornets Cleveland Cavaliers
Thu Nov 16 1:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Philadelphia 76ers
Fri Nov 17 11:00 AM Boston Celtics Golden State Warriors
Fri Nov 17 1:30 PM Phoenix Suns Houston Rockets
Sat Nov 18 11:00 AM San Antonio Spurs Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Nov 18 1:30 PM Denver Nuggets New Orleans Pelicans
Sun Nov 19 11:00 AM Memphis Grizzlies Houston Rockets
Thu Nov 23 11:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder Golden State Warriors
Thu Nov 23 1:30 PM Sacramento Kings Los Angeles Lakers
Sat Nov 25 11:00 AM Minnesota Timberwolves Miami Heat
Sun Nov 26 10:00 AM Washington Wizards Portland Trail Blazers
Sat Dec 2 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Minnesota Timberwolves
Sun Dec 3 11:30 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Memphis Grizzlies
Thu Dec 7 12:00 PM Charlotte Hornets Golden State Warriors
Thu Dec 7 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Minnesota Timberwolves
Fri Dec 8 12:00 PM Philadelphia 76ers Los Angeles Lakers
Fri Dec 8 2:30 PM Utah Jazz Houston Rockets
Sat Dec 9 11:00 AM Detroit Pistons Golden State Warriors
Sat Dec 9 1:30 PM San Antonio Spurs Boston Celtics
Sun Dec 10 10:00 AM Brooklyn Nets Miami Heat
Wed Dec 13 11:00 AM New York Knicks Los Angeles Lakers
Wed Dec 13 1:30 PM Dallas Mavericks San Antonio Spurs
Thu Dec 14 11:00 AM Indiana Pacers Oklahoma City Thunder
Thu Dec 14 1:30 PM Houston Rockets Charlotte Hornets
Fri Dec 15 12:00 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Los Angeles Lakers
Fri Dec 15 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Dallas Mavericks
Sat Dec 16 11:00 AM Philadelphia 76ers Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Dec 16 1:30 PM Houston Rockets San Antonio Spurs
Sun Dec 17 12:00 PM Houston Rockets Milwaukee Bucks
Tue Dec 19 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Houston Rockets
Thu Dec 21 12:00 PM Houston Rockets Los Angeles Lakers
Fri Dec 22 12:00 PM New York Knicks Boston Celtics
Fri Dec 22 2:30 PM Utah Jazz San Antonio Spurs
Sat Dec 23 12:00 PM Houston Rockets Los Angeles Clippers
Sat Dec 23 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Los Angeles Lakers
Sun Dec 24 11:30 AM Boston Celtics Chicago Bulls
Tue Dec 26 4:00 AM New York Knicks Philadelphia 76ers
Tue Dec 26 7:00 AM Golden State Warriors Cleveland Cavaliers
Tue Dec 26 9:30 AM Boston Celtics Washington Wizards
Tue Dec 26 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Houston Rockets
Tue Dec 26 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Minnesota Timberwolves
Fri Dec 29 12:00 PM Boston Celtics Houston Rockets
Fri Dec 29 2:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Philadelphia 76ers
Sat Dec 30 11:00 AM Washington Wizards Houston Rockets
Sun Dec 31 12:30 PM Golden State Warriors Memphis Grizzlies
Thu Jan 4 12:00 PM Boston Celtics Cleveland Cavaliers
Thu Jan 4 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Oklahoma City Thunder
Fri Jan 5 12:00 PM Houston Rockets Golden State Warriors
Fri Jan 5 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Jan 6 11:00 AM Miami Heat New York Knicks
Sat Jan 6 1:30 PM Memphis Grizzlies Washington Wizards
Sun Jan 7 1:00 PM Minnesota Timberwolves New Orleans Pelicans
Thu Jan 11 12:00 PM Minnesota Timberwolves Oklahoma City Thunder
Thu Jan 11 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Los Angeles Clippers
Fri Jan 12 12:00 PM Toronto Raptors Cleveland Cavaliers
Fri Jan 12 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers San Antonio Spurs
Sat Jan 13 12:00 PM Milwaukee Bucks Golden State Warriors
Sat Jan 13 2:30 PM Phoenix Suns Houston Rockets
Sun Jan 14 12:30 PM San Antonio Spurs Denver Nuggets
Mon Jan 15 1:00 PM Minnesota Timberwolves Portland Trail Blazers
Tue Jan 16 9:30 AM Memphis Grizzlies Los Angeles Lakers
Tue Jan 16 12:00 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Golden State Warriors
Tue Jan 16 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Houston Rockets
Thu Jan 18 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Los Angeles Lakers
Thu Jan 18 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Denver Nuggets
Fri Jan 19 11:00 AM Boston Celtics Philadelphia 76ers
Fri Jan 19 1:30 PM Houston Rockets Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Jan 20 12:00 PM Detroit Pistons Washington Wizards
Sat Jan 20 2:30 PM Utah Jazz New York Knicks
Sun Jan 21 7:30 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Oklahoma City Thunder
Sun Jan 21 12:30 PM Houston Rockets Golden State Warriors
Wed Jan 24 12:00 PM San Antonio Spurs Cleveland Cavaliers
Wed Jan 24 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Boston Celtics
Thu Jan 25 11:00 AM Philadelphia 76ers Chicago Bulls
Thu Jan 25 12:00 PM Dallas Mavericks Houston Rockets
Thu Jan 25 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Boston Celtics
Fri Jan 26 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Washington Wizards
Fri Jan 26 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Jan 27 12:00 PM New Orleans Pelicans Houston Rockets
Sun Jan 28 12:30 PM Golden State Warriors Boston Celtics
Mon Jan 29 10:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder Philadelphia 76ers
Wed Jan 31 12:00 PM Detroit Pistons Cleveland Cavaliers
Wed Jan 31 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Portland Trail Blazers
Fri Feb 2 12:00 PM San Antonio Spurs Houston Rockets
Fri Feb 2 2:30 PM Denver Nuggets Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Feb 3 12:30 PM Philadelphia 76ers Miami Heat
Sat Feb 3 2:00 PM Sacramento Kings Golden State Warriors
Sun Feb 4 12:30 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Houston Rockets
Mon Feb 5 6:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder Los Angeles Lakers
Wed Feb 7 12:00 PM Philadelphia 76ers Washington Wizards
Wed Feb 7 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Oklahoma City Thunder
Thu Feb 8 12:00 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Minnesota Timberwolves
Thu Feb 8 2:30 PM Phoenix Suns San Antonio Spurs
Fri Feb 9 12:00 PM Washington Wizards Boston Celtics
Fri Feb 9 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Oklahoma City Thunder
Sat Feb 10 12:00 PM Chicago Bulls Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Feb 10 2:30 PM Sacramento Kings Portland Trail Blazers
Sun Feb 11 12:30 PM Golden State Warriors San Antonio Spurs
Mon Feb 12 7:30 AM Boston Celtics Cleveland Cavaliers
Wed Feb 14 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Cleveland Cavaliers
Wed Feb 14 2:30 PM Denver Nuggets San Antonio Spurs
Thu Feb 15 12:00 PM Boston Celtics Los Angeles Clippers
Thu Feb 15 2:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Golden State Warriors
Fri Feb 16 1:00 PM Minnesota Timberwolves Los Angeles Lakers
Fri Feb 23 12:00 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Washington Wizards
Fri Feb 23 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors Los Angeles Clippers
Sat Feb 24 12:00 PM Houston Rockets Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Feb 24 2:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Dallas Mavericks
Sun Feb 25 12:30 PM Golden State Warriors Oklahoma City Thunder
Mon Feb 26 7:30 AM Cleveland Cavaliers San Antonio Spurs
Mon Feb 26 12:00 PM Washington Wizards Philadelphia 76ers
Wed Feb 28 12:00 PM Milwaukee Bucks Washington Wizards
Wed Feb 28 2:30 PM Denver Nuggets Los Angeles Clippers
Thu Mar 1 12:00 PM Washington Wizards Golden State Warriors
Thu Mar 1 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Houston Rockets
Fri Mar 2 12:00 PM Cleveland Cavaliers Philadelphia 76ers
Fri Mar 2 2:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Mar 3 12:00 PM Washington Wizards Toronto Raptors
Sat Mar 3 2:30 PM Utah Jazz Minnesota Timberwolves
Sun Mar 4 12:30 PM Houston Rockets Boston Celtics
Mon Mar 5 12:00 PM Milwaukee Bucks Philadelphia 76ers
Wed Mar 7 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder Houston Rockets
Wed Mar 7 2:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers New Orleans Pelicans
Fri Mar 9 12:00 PM Minnesota Timberwolves Boston Celtics
Fri Mar 9 2:30 PM Golden State Warriors San Antonio Spurs
Sat Mar 10 2:00 PM Portland Trail Blazers Golden State Warriors
Sun Mar 11 12:00 PM Oklahoma City Thunder San Antonio Spurs
Mon Mar 12 6:30 AM Minnesota Timberwolves Golden State Warriors
Mon Mar 12 12:00 PM Los Angeles Lakers Cleveland Cavaliers
Tue Mar 13 11:00 AM Houston Rockets San Antonio Spurs
Tue Mar 13 1:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Miami Heat
Thu Mar 15 11:00 AM Boston Celtics Washington Wizards
Thu Mar 15 1:30 PM Golden State Warriors Los Angeles Lakers
Sat Mar 17 11:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder Los Angeles Clippers
Sun Mar 18 11:30 AM San Antonio Spurs Minnesota Timberwolves
Tue Mar 20 10:00 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Milwaukee Bucks
Tue Mar 20 12:30 PM San Antonio Spurs Golden State Warriors
Wed Mar 21 11:00 AM Boston Celtics Oklahoma City Thunder
Wed Mar 21 1:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Houston Rockets
Thu Mar 22 10:00 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Toronto Raptors
Thu Mar 22 12:30 PM San Antonio Spurs Washington Wizards
Sat Mar 24 1:00 PM Portland Trail Blazers Boston Celtics
Sun Mar 25 11:00 AM Houston Rockets New Orleans Pelicans
Wed Mar 28 11:00 AM Miami Heat Cleveland Cavaliers
Wed Mar 28 1:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers Milwaukee Bucks
Thu Mar 29 12:30 PM Utah Jazz Boston Celtics
Fri Mar 30 11:00 AM San Antonio Spurs Oklahoma City Thunder
Fri Mar 30 1:30 PM Golden State Warriors Milwaukee Bucks
Sat Mar 31 11:00 AM Cleveland Cavaliers New Orleans Pelicans
Sat Mar 31 1:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Los Angeles Clippers
Sun Apr 1 9:30 AM Boston Celtics Toronto Raptors
Mon Apr 2 5:30 AM San Antonio Spurs Houston Rockets
Wed Apr 4 10:00 AM Oklahoma City Thunder Golden State Warriors
Wed Apr 4 12:30 PM Los Angeles Clippers San Antonio Spurs
Thu Apr 5 9:00 AM Toronto Raptors Boston Celtics
Thu Apr 5 11:30 AM New Orleans Pelicans Memphis Grizzlies
Fri Apr 6 10:00 AM Cleveland Cavaliers Washington Wizards
Fri Apr 6 12:30 PM Denver Nuggets Minnesota Timberwolves
Sat Apr 7 12:00 PM Los Angeles Lakers Minnesota Timberwolves
Sun Apr 8 10:30 AM Houston Rockets Oklahoma City Thunder
Wed Apr 11 10:00 AM Washington Wizards Boston Celtics
Wed Apr 11 12:30 PM Los Angeles Lakers Houston Rockets
Thu Apr 12 10:00 AM Philadelphia 76ers Milwaukee Bucks
Thu Apr 12 12:30 PM Portland Trail Blazers Utah Jazz