The Roar
The Roar


Super Rugby ladder 2020

Jordie Barrett is now the man for the Hurricanes. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

This is the full Super Rugby ladder for 2020, with conference and overall standings available here.

Super Rugby overall ladder

Australian Conference

New Zealand Conference

South African Conference


Note: this ladder is updated at the end of each round.

Super Rugby table explained

Eight teams qualify for the Super Rugby finals. The team that finishes the top of each conference will immediately make it into the finals, with the other five positions awarded to the five next best teams, regardless of division.

For finals seeding, the three division winners are regarded as finishing first, second and third – regardless of whether any of the non-division winners actually exceeded their points total.

Teams receive four points for a victory, two points for a draw and no points for a loss. Bonus points are awarded to a team that scores three or more tries than their opponent, or to a team that loses by seven points or fewer.

Unlike rugby league, teams are not awarded any points for a bye.

If teams finish on the same number of points, the team with the most wins, followed by better for and against (total points scored minus total points against) will take the higher position on the ladder.

Tie-breaking Rules
In the event of two or more teams being equal on competition points for any position on either the Conference or Super Rugby Standings tables, either during or at the end of the season, such position will be decided upon using the following steps until the tie is broken:
(a) Most wins from all matches;
(b) Highest aggregate points difference from all matches;
(c) Most tries from all matches;
(d) Highest aggregate difference of total tries for versus tries scored against from all matches;
(e) Coin toss.


More Super Rugby 2020 content