The Roar
The Roar

Advertisement

Socceroos fixtures

(Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

Upcoming Socceroos fixtures are announced all year round as the international men’s team participates in competitions around the world.

The Socceroos are through to the third round of Asian qualification for the 2022 FIFA World Cup after breezing through the second round with eight wins in as many matches.

Australia have been sorted into Group B and will play the other five teams in their group twice. If they place in the top two in their group, they will officially qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. If they finish third, they will need to play a one-off fixture against the other third-place finisher and then win an intercontinental play-off if they want to make it.

FIFA 2022 World Cup third round qualification

Date Opponent Venue Time
Thu Sep 2 China TBC TBC
Tue Sep 7 Vietnam
Thu Oct 7 Oman
Tue Oct 12 Japan
Thu Nov 11 Saudi Arabia
Tue Nov 16 China
Thu Jan 27 Vietnam
Tue Feb 1 Oman
Thu Mar 24 Japan
Tue Mar 29 Saudi Arabia

FIFA 2022 World Cup second round qualification results

Date Opponent Venue Result
Tue Sep 10 Kuwait Al Kuwait Sports Club Australia 3-0
Thu Oct 10 Nepal Canberra Stadium Australia 5-0
Tue Oct 15 Taiwan National Stadium Australia 7-1
Fri Nov 15 Jordan King Abdullah II Stadium Australia 1-0
Fri Jun 4 Kuwait Jaber Al-Hamad Stadium Australia 3-0
Tue Jun 8 Taiwan Jaber Al-Hamad Stadium Australia 5-1
Sat Jun 12 Nepal Al Kuwait SC Stadium Australia 3-0
Wed Jun 16 Jordan Al Kuwait SC Stadium Australia 1-0

Socceroos results

2019 Socceroos Asian Cup results

Advertisement

It was a disappointing Asian Cup title defence for the Socceroos. The group stages Asian Cup pit Australia against Jordan, Palestine and Syria and, while they were able to progress after finishing second, they were knocked out in the quarter-finals after a shock loss to UAE – the host nation.

Group Stage

Date Result Venue
Sun 6 Jan Australia 0, Jordan 1 Hazza Bin Zayed Stadium
Fri 11 Jan Australia 3, Palestine 0 Al-Rashid Stadium
Wed 16 Jan Australia 3, Syria 2 Sheikh Khalifa International Stadium

Knockout Stage

Match Date Result Venue
Round of 16 Tue 22 Jan Australia 0, Uzbekistan 0 (4-2 pen.) Khalifa bin Zayed Stadium
Quarter-final Sat 26 Jan Australia 0, UAE 1 Hazza bin Zayed Stadium

2018 FIFA World Cup results

Australia made their run to the World Cup difficult, after spluttering through the Asian qualification stage. They managed to qualify after a strong play-off win over Honduras, but were drawn in a very tough group with European powerhouses France and Denmark, as well as Peru – who defeated New Zealand to earn their place.

The Socceroos were competitive in the group stage, but were unable to break through for a win and were subsequently eliminated after finishing last.

Advertisement
Game 1 Game 2 Game 3
Australia 1, France 2 Australia 1, Denmark 1 Australia 0, Peru 2
Date: June 16 Date: June 21 Date: June 27
Venue: Kazan Arena Venue: Samara Arena Venue: Fisht Stadium

More Football content

close