Email to friend icon

NRL Grand Final 2014

The 2014 NRL Grand Final will be held at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Sunday, October 5. It will be contested by the South Sydney Rabbitohs and the Canterbury Bulldogs. The NRL’s top two teams will do battle to claim ownership of the Provan-Summons Trophy.┬áThe kick-off time is listed as 7:15pm AEST in the official release sent to the media, but is listed on the NRL website as 7:20 AEST. Kick-off is often delayed in these matches due to TV specials and pre-match entertainment.

To reach the 2014 final, the Rabbitohs came back from 12-0 down to comfortably beat the Sydney Roosters 32-22. The Bulldogs managed to win over the in-form Penrith Panthers by six points to secure their spot.

The game will be broadcast live on Channel Nine, with the Under 20s and 2014 NRL State Championship Grand Final also broadcast through the day.

South Sydney hooker Issac Luke will miss the Grand Final, after being charged with a dangerous throw for a tackle on Sonny Bill Williams. He defended it, but was found guilty at the judiciary in the lead-up to the game. Fellow hooker Michael Ennis is likely to miss the final as well, with a foot injury.

The referees for the NRL Grand Final will be Shayne Hayne and Gerard Sutton. Hayne will be officiating his fourth decider, while it will be Sutton’s debut.

Full details on kick-off time, and information.

The NRL moved to an evening Grand Final due to the latest NRL TV Rights deal. In 2008 the NRL bowed to fan demands to play the Grand Final in the afternoon until 2012. The new NRL TV Rights deal means the game is pushed back towards the night.

The Roar will have live blogs, expert columns in the lead-up and plenty of banter.

Recent Grand Final History:

The 2013 NRL Grand Final was a hard fought battle between the Sydney Roosters and Manly Sea Eagles on Sunday, October 6 at ANZ Stadium in Sydney. Manly took the lead early, but the Roosters proved to be too strong, winning 26-18.

NRL Draw 2014