WACA to host Ashes Test in 2017

By ,

 , ,

6 Have your say

    The WACA Ground will get one final Ashes hurrah after the new $1.2 billion Perth Stadium lost its race to be ready in time to host WA’s showpiece Test this summer.

    Cricket Australia was hopeful that the new 60,000-seat venue at Burswood would be completed ahead of time to host Australia’s third Test against England, starting on December 14.

    But the WA State Government confirmed on Wednesday that the Test would have to be played at the WACA Ground.

    The Perth Scorchers’ BBL and WBBL fixtures will also have to be played at the WACA this summer.

    Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland said he was disappointed when informed of the news about the Ashes Test.

    But he’s been told there’s a strong chance the one-day international between Australia and England on January 28 will be played at the Perth Stadium.

    As it stands, an Ed Sheeran concert on March 3 is the first official event listed for the stadium.

    The venue will also host AFL matches from next season.

    All blockbuster Tests and ODIs will be shifted to the new Perth Stadium once it’s completed, with BBL fixtures also to be played there.

    The WACA plans to turn itself into a boutique venue that will host smaller-drawing fixtures, as well as domestic cricket and possibly WAFL football.

    The WACA Ground is steeped in cricket history, with England and Australia facing off in the first Test there in 1970.

    Overall, 43 Tests have been played at the WACA Ground, with England featuring in 13 of them.

    Australia have won nine and drawn three of their 13 Tests against England at the WACA Ground.

    England’s only Test win there came in 1978.

    The iconic pace and bounce of the WACA pitch has faded somewhat in recent years.

    But the ground is still highly revered by players around the world.


    1970 – Draw

    1974 – Australia won by 9 wickets

    1978 – England won by 166 runs

    1979 – Australia won by 138 runs

    1982 – Draw

    1986 – Draw

    1991 – Australia won by 9 wickets

    1995 – Australia won by 329 runs

    1998 – Australia won by 7 wickets

    2002 – Australia won by an innings and 48 runs

    2006 – Australia won by 206 runs

    2010 – Australia won by 267 runs

    2013 – Australia won by 150 runs

    © AAP 2017

    The Ashes is almost here, and we want to know who YOU think should line up for Australia against England in the first Test.
    Pick your Ashes dream team here