AFL Free Agents 2017

AFL Free agency is a relatively new addition to the player movement period but it has seen some massive changes in landscape since its introduction.

Player movement rates have increased dramatically every since it was introduced, and clubs have used it in a variety of different ways to manage their lists.

Big name players like Brendon Goddard and Lance Franklin have shifted clubs through free agency – and others, like Brian Lake and Patrick Dangerfield, have used free agent status as an incentive to secure trades.

Here we have collected a list of every free agent still available to sign in 2016, which we will update regularly throughout the off-season.

What are unrestricted and restricted free agents?
Unrestricted free agents are free to move to the club of their choice without any impediment. Restricted free agents, however, must wait for the current club to match, or decline to match, the offer the free agent has received.

If their current club matches then they are forced to seek a trade – however, this is yet to happen so far in the time that free agency has existed in the AFL.

2017 free agents

Adelaide Crows
Andy Otten (unrestricted)
Scott Thompson (unrestricted)

Brisbane Lions
Claye Beams (unrestricted)
Ryan Harwood (unrestricted)
Tom Rockliff (restricted)

Carlton Blues
Dennis Armfield (unrestricted)
Levi Casboult (unrestricted)
Matthew Kreuzer (unrestricted)
Kade Simpson (unrestricted)
Simon White (unrestricted)

Collingwood Magpies
Tyson Goldsack (unrestricted)
Lachlan Keeffe (unrestricted)
Ben Sinclair (unrestricted)
Josh Thomas (unrestricted)

Essendon Bombers
Heath Hocking (unrestricted)
Ben Howlett (unrestricted)
Brent Stanton (unrestricted)
Jobe Watson (unrestricted)
David Zaharakis (restricted)

Fremantle Dockers
Hayden Ballantyne (restricted)
Zac Clarke (unrestricted)
Nat Fyfe (restricted)
Garrick Ibbotson (unrestricted)
Michael Johnson (unrestricted)
David Mundy (unrestricted)
Aaron Sandilands (unrestricted)
Nick Suban (unrestricted)

Nat Fyfe Fremantle Dockers AFL 2015

Geelong Cats
Josh Cowan (unrestricted)
Andrew Mackie (unrestricted)
Steven Motlop (restricted)
Tom Lonergan (unrestricted)
Daniel Menzel (unrestricted)

Hawthorn Hawks
Luke Breust (restricted)
Shaun Burgoyne (unrestricted)
Taylor Duryea (unrestricted)
Josh Gibson (restricted)
Luke Hodge (unrestricted)
Ryan Schoenmakers (unrestricted)

North Melbourne Kangaroos
Scott Thompson (restricted)
Lachlan Hansen (unrestricted)

Melbourne Demons
Jake Spencer (unrestricted)
Jack Trengove (unrestricted)

Port Adelaide Power
Jasper Pittard (unrestricted)
Jackson Trengove (restricted)
Justin Westhoff (unrestricted)

Richmond Tigers
Dustin Martin (restricted)

Dustin Martin of the Richmond Tigers

St Kilda Saints
Sean Dempster (unrestricted)
Sam Gilbert (unrestricted)
Leigh Montagna (unrestricted)
Nick Riewoldt (unrestricted)

Sydney Swans
Jarrad McVeigh (unrestricted)
Sam Reid (restricted)

West Coast Eagles
Sam Butler (unrestricted)
Mark LeCras (unrestricted)
Eric Mackenzie (restricted)
Matt Priddis (unrestricted)

Western Bulldogs
Matthew Boyd (unrestricted)
Dale Morris (unrestricted)
Robert Murphy (unrestricted)
Liam Picken (unrestricted)

Last updated: 10 April, 2017