The Roar
The Roar


Dally M watch: Who's firming as the favourite?

Cameron Munster. (AAP Image/Darren England)
14th August, 2019

We’re getting down to the business end of the NRL season and, while there are plenty of finals calculations and team honours to ponder, it’s time to pay some attention to the game’s most prestigious individual honour.

The Dally M medal.

Some clear favourites have emerged, with Sydney’s James Tedesco and Melbourne’s Cameron Munster seemingly in a dogfight at the top to take home the award.

So, who’s the most likely? Are there any other smokeys we need to watch out for?

We were joined on The Roar’s very own Game of Codes podcast by NRL expert AJ Mithen to look over all the favourites and throw in a suggestion from left field or two.

Listen to the debate:

For reference, here’s what the ladder looked like after Round 12, when voting went behind closed doors.

Dally M ladder

Player Club Votes
Mitchell Pearce Knights 15
Cameron Munster Storm 14
Damien Cook Rabbitohs 14
Jason Taumalolo Cowboys 12
Cameron Smith Storm 12
James Tedesco Roosters 12
Mitchell Moses Eels 11
Cody Walker Rabbitohs 10
Clint Gutherson Eels 10
Chad Townsend Sharks 10
Payne Haas Broncos 10
Sam Burgess Rabbitohs 10
Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad Raiders 10

Visit our Game of Codes hub to catch the full episode and be sure to subscribe and review on iHeartRadio, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts or wherever else you’re listening.