The Roar
The Roar


The Ashes fixtures 2021-22

(Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

The 2021-22 Ashes Series ran from December 2021 to January 2022 and was held in Australia.

Sydney traditionally hosted the final Test of the summer but the New Year’s Test became the penultimate match. Perth was originally scheduled as the fifth Test host but Cricket Australia has now locked in Hobart as the host of the Test after the tough border rules of Western Australia were considered unfeasible to have the Ashes played there.

That Test was played as a day-night match with a pink ball, the first of its kind in Hobart.

The Ashe looked and sounded different this Summer with uncertainty around Australia’s borders meaning a lack of English fans and the Barmy Army able to travel from the United Kingdom.

Australia claimed the first Test of the series at the Gabba by 9 wickets and followed it up with a 275-run win in Adelaide. They took an unassailable 3-0 lead by winning the Boxing Day Test.

England avoided a whitewash by holding on for a draw at the SCG but Australia powered to a 4-0 win with another comprehensive victory in Hobart.

2021-22 Ashes Series

Fixture Dates Venue Result
First Test Dec 8-12 Gabba, Brisbane Australia by 9 wickets
Second Test (D/N) Dec 16-20 Adelaide Oval, Adelaide Australia by 275 runs
Third Test Dec 26-30 MCG, Melbourne Australia by an innings and 14 runs
Fourth Test Jan 5-9 SCG, Sydney Match drawn
Fifth Test (D/N) Jan 14-18 Blundstone Arena, Hobart Australia by 146 runs

Previous Ashes series



Australia fought a 2-2 drawn series with England to retain the urn, having entered the series as the urn holders. It was the first time Australia retained the urn on foreign soil since 2001.

Fixture Dates Venue Result
First Test Aug 1-5 Edgbaston Australia by 251 runs
Second Test Aug 14-18 Lord’s Match drawn
Third Test Aug 22-26 Headingley England by 1 wicket
Fourth Test Sep 4-8 Old Trafford Australia by 185 runs
Fifth Test Sep 12-16 The Oval England by 135 runs


Australia enjoyed a comprehensive 4-0 victory over England in the 2017-18 Ashes series on home soil, making it three out of the past four series played in Australia that the visitors have failed to win a Test.

The ball-tampering scandal that took place in South Africa just two months after the series subsequently raised some questions over Australia’s dominance, however.

Fixture Dates Venue Result
First Test Nov 23-27 The Gabba Australia by 10 wickets
Second Test Dec 2-6 Adelaide Oval Australia by 120 runs
Third Test Dec 14-18 WACA Ground Australia by an innings and 41 runs
Fourth Test Dec 26-30 MCG Match drawn
Fifth Test Jan 4-8 SCG Australia by an innings and 123 runs

More Cricket content