The Roar
The Roar


Roar Forum: What changes should the Wallabies make for the second Test?

The Wallabies lost convincingly to Eddie Jones England for the fourth time this year. (AAP Image/David Moir)
20th August, 2016
1253 Reads

Well, that wasn’t much fun, eh Wallabies fans? A 42-8 smashing in the the first game of the Bledisloe Cup has left us all a bit down this morning. Really, that’s an understatement at this point.

More of the wash-up from Bledisloe 1
» Match Report: NZ smash Australia
» LORD: The Wallabies can’t pass, catch or tackle
» Five talking points
» DIY Player Ratings
» WATCH: All the highlights

The result is even worse when you consider that it means we’ve now lost four consecutive Test on home soil, three of them to England earlier in the year and now one to the All Blacks.

While a win against the world’s premier nation was always a little unlikely even on our home turf, the manner of the defeat – a complete capitulation to lose by 34 points – was frankly embarrassing.

And to think this comes after a 2015 in which Australia won the Rugby Championship, finished as runners-up in the Rugby World Cup, and saw Michael Cheika named Coach of the Year.

It’s pretty clear at this point that the Wallabies need to make some changes. But what changes, exactly? For the answer to that all important question, Roarers, we’re turning things over to you.

What changes need to be made ahead of the second Test agaisnt the All Blacks? Who fared well last night, who flopped? Who deserves another chance, and whose time is up? Who are Australia’s best options waiting in the wings? In short: who comes in, who goes out?

There will, we bet, be a variety of opinions on the matter, and in this week’s Roar Forum you are invited to let us know in the comments what yours is.

For your reference, here’s the full team from last night:


Wallabies team to play the All Blacks in Bledisloe 1
1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore, 3. Sekope Kepu, 4. Kane Douglas, 5. Rob Simmons, 6. Ben McCalman, 7. Michael Hooper, 8. David Pocock, 9. Will Geni, 10. Bernard Foley, 11. Dane Haylett-Petty, 12. Matt Giteau, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Adam Ashley-Coope, 15. Israel Folau.

Reserves: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17. James Slipper, 18. Allan Ala’alatoa, 19. Dean Mumm, 20. Scott Fardy, 21. Nick Phipp, 22. Matt Toomua, 23. Rob Horne.

What changes do you want to see for next week? Let the debate begin!