The Roar
The Roar


Queensland Country vs Brisbane City: NRC preview

The NRC is a vital pathway, but it can't come at the expense of viable Super Rugby franchises. (Photo Karen Watson)
Roar Guru
8th October, 2016

Brisbane City will be looking to avoid the wooden spoon and take the Andy Purcell Cup when they take on Queensland Country in a bottom of the table clash.

Despite being champions of 2015, Brisbane City have had their worst-ever season, and risk finishing at the bottom of the table with anything other than a win.

Coming off a 38-point loss to the Perth Rising, City have been having trouble in both defence and attack, only managing to win a single game all season.

Andrew Ready returns for City, as Junior Laloifi plays his first ever game of the season after being named for the bench.

Coming off a shock win over table leaders New South Wales Country Eagles in their last match, Queensland Country will be looking for their second win of the season.

The Country welcomed the Country Eagles to Queensland, but no one could have expected the match to unfold the way it did, with Queensland taking the 2-point win in a thrilling affair.

Queensland will welcome back Izaia Perese into the side, and he will play alongside Duncan Paia’aua.

The last time these two sides played was back in 2015. Brisbane City took the 20-point win in the season where they eventually became champions.



Both sides have struggled, but Queensland Country pulled out a championship performance out of nowhere last week. If they can find that form once again, the Andy Purcell Cup is theirs for the taking.

Country by 8

Kick-off: 3pm AEDT
Venue: Ballymore Oval, Brisbane
Table position: City eighth, Country seventh
Last meeting: Queensland Country 24 – 44 Brisbane City

BRISBANE CITY: Pettowa Paraka, Andrew Ready, Sam Talakai (c), Luke Beauchamp, Lukhan Tui, Adam Korczyk, Michael Gunn, Isi Naisarani, Moses Sorovi, Jake McIntyre, Alex Gibbon, Toby White, Brad Lacey, Chris Kuridrani, Jayden Ngamanu.
Bench: Matt Mafi, Markus Vanzati, Feao Fotuaika, David Findlay-Henaway, Criff Tupou, Angus Fowler, Junior Laloifi, Tuaina Tualima.

QUEENSLAND COUNTRY: Ben Daley, Alex Casey, Taniela Tupou, Izack Rodda, Tyrell Barker, Ted Postal, Maclean Jones, Angus Scott-Young, James Tuttle, Mack Mason, Liam McNamara, Duncan Paia’aua, Izaia Perese, Tyrone Lefau, Tom Banks.
Bench: Feleti Kaitu’u, Sef Fa’agase, Kirwan Sanday, Patrick Morrey, Liam Wright, Isaac Fines-Leleiwasa, Mitch Third, Liam Jurd.