The Roar
The Roar


Naisarani to travel with Wallabies as Cheika finalises Spring Tour squad

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
3rd November, 2018
3158 Reads

Fijian-born Isi Naisarani has moved one step closer to making a Wallabies debut, after he was named as a development player for Australia’s upcoming Spring tour in Europe.

The 23-year-old, who will become eligible for national selection in April, is one of two development players Michael Cheika will take on tour – alongside Rob Valentini.

The Fijian made his Super Rugby debut in late 2017 with the Western Force, but made headlines earlier this year when he signed one-year deals with both the Melbourne Rebels and Rugby Australia.

He’ll no doubt be in Cheika’s mind when World Cup squads have to be finalised next year.

The other big addition to the squad is Tatafu Polota-Nau, who last made an appearance in Australia’s disastrous loss to Argentina on the Gold Coast.

Uncapped duo Jake Gordon and Jordan Petaia are also eligible to make their national debuts, while Adam Ashley-Cooper could be in line for his first appearance in the green and gold since 2016.

Adam Coleman appears to have overcome his injury complaint after being named, but the news is not as good for Jed Holloway and Brendan Paenga-Amosa, who have both not made the final cut.

The three-match tour will begin next week, with a clash against Wales on Sunday morning (Australian time), before the Wallabies travel to Italy a week after and England the week after that.

After a horror Rugby Championship and 3-0 Bledisloe whitewash, a lot of pressure has been placed on the team to get good results from their end-of-year fixtures.


Jermaine Ainsley, Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Jack Dempsey, Folau Fainga’a, Ned Hanigan, Michael Hooper (c), Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Tatafu Polota-Nau, David Pocock, Izack Rodda, Pete Samu, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Taniela Tupou

Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tom Banks, Kurtley Beale, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Jake Gordon, Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Marika Koroibete, Jack Maddocks, Sefa Naivalu, Jordan Petaia, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua

Development Players
Isi Naisarani, Rob Valentini