The Roar
The Roar


Goals galore as Sky Blues claim silverware

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Rookie
18th February, 2019

Sydney FC defeated Perth Glory 4-2 in the W-League grand final on the weekend at Nestrata Jubilee Stadium in front of a crowd of 6,127.

It was the third championship for the Sky Blues. For fans of both teams and neutrals this game had everything: wonder goals, international stars and a record crowd.

It was anticipated to be an exciting game and it would be fair to say that it didn’t disappoint. Sydney struck early with a pearler of a finish from Sofia Huerta. It didn’t take long for Perth to bounce back when Sam Kerr was brought down in the box and netted the penalty to bring the scores level.

It was then star import Savannah McCaskill who put the hosts ahead with a header from a peach of a cross that came from Caitlin Foord and the Sky Blues went into half time with the lead. About 15 minutes into the second half it was another goal from McCaskill to make it 3-1 and Sydney had one hand on the trophy.

But Perth were refusing to go down without a fight and got themselves back into the game after Alyssa Mautz found the back of the net with a lovely half-volley that came from a Nicole Stanton corner. However, it was Matildas star Chloe Logarzo who wrapped it up for Sydney with a wonder strike when the ball fell to her on the edge of the box and she curled it into the top right corner first time.

The glory will go to star imports Huerta and McCaskilll for their goals but it was the Matildas at the back who were the unsung heroes for the Sky Blues, Elizabeth Ralston and Alanna Kennedy who were instrumental in Sydney winning their first championship in six years.

The Blues two previous crowns came in 2009 and 2012-13, making it a welcome trifecta for the Sydneysiders.