The Roar
The Roar


When does State of Origin 3 start? Queensland Maroons vs NSW Blues, Game 3 start time, finish time, broadcast info

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
17th November, 2020

The third and final State of Origin match of 2020 will decide the series, with the NSW Blues heading to Suncorp Stadium to take on the Queensland Maroons. If you’re wondering when Game 3 will start, we’ve got all the info you need.

The opening whistle will blow in front of a capacity crowd at Suncorp Stadium on what’s anticipated to be a partly cloudy evening. The home side have an excellent record in deciders, although the Blues managed to win last year’s corresponding match.

» Origin 3 live scores: Follow Queensland Maroons vs NSW Blues with our live blog

State of Origin 3 will kick off at 8:10pm (AEDT) on Wednesday, which makes for a local 7:10pm (AEST) start time.

That’s the official schedule, but as we all know Origin rarely runs on time: we’re likely to see things get underway closer to 8:15pm (AEDT).

Given this, the match should finish just past 10pm (AEDT), although that will obviously be pushed back should the game go into extra-time.

Origin 3 should see the return of Christian Welch and Cameron Munster for the Maroons, who played a combined two minutes of Game 2 due to head injuries. In addition, Corey Allan, Edrick Lee, Brenko Lee and Harry Grant are all set to make their Origin debuts for Queensland, after Xavier Coates was ruled out with a groin injury and Phillip Sami was dropped.

The Blues, on the other hand, are set to run out with an identical side to last week.

Origin 3 game information


Start time: 8:10pm (AEDT)
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
TV: Live, Channel Nine
Live stream: 9Now
Referee: Gerard Sutton
Odds: NSW $1.43, Queensland $2.90

1. Valentine Holmes, 2. Xavier Coates, 3. Kurt Capewell, 4. Dane Gagai, 5. Corey Allan, 6. Cameron Munster, 7. Daly Cherry-Evans (c), 8. Christian Welch, 9. Jake Friend, 10. Josh Papalii, 11. Felise Kaufusi, 12. Jaydn Su’A, 13. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Bench: 14. Harry Grant, 15. Lindsay Collins, 16. Jai Arrow, 17. Dunamis Lui, 18. Ben Hunt, 19. Edrick Lee, 20. Moeaki Fotuaika, 21. Brenko Lee

1. James Tedesco (c), 2. Daniel Tupou, 3. Clint Gutherson, 4. Jack Wighton, 5. Josh Addo-Carr, 6. Cody Walker, 7. Nathan Cleary, 8. Daniel Saifiti, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Payne Haas, 11. Angus Crichton, 12. Tyson Frizell, 13. Jake Trbojevic

Bench: 14. Dale Finucane, 15. Junior Paulo, 16. Nathan Brown, 17. Isaah Yeo, 18. Ryan Papenhuyzen, 19. Jarome Luai, 20. Cameron McInnes, 21. Nick Cotric

Broadcast information

The Nine Network is your best bet, well it’s your only bet, to watch the State of Origin decider live as the network has the exclusive rights to the match.

The coverage will start at 7pm (AEDT) on Nine Network’s main free-to-air channel. Otherwise, watch the grudge match on 9Now, Nine’s online streaming service, which will require a free account.


Fox Sports and Kayo will show replays with their own commentary at the conclusion of Nine’s broadcast but will not be screening the event live.