The Roar
The Roar


What time do the Socceroos play China and how do you watch it

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
2nd September, 2021

The Socceroos re-commence their 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign with their opening match in Round three of the qualifiers taking place against China on September 3 AEST.

It’s business time for the Aussies who are looking to qualify for their fifth straight World Cup.

There are five other teams in Australia’s group including Japan, Saudi Arabia, China, Oman and Vietnam. If the Socceroos manage to finish inside the top two out of that group they’ll automatically qualify for the 2022 World Cup.

A third-placed finish would send the Socceroos to a fourth round of qualifying.

Before they can think that far ahead, China awaits.

What time are the Socceroos playing?
The Australians are scheduled to take on China at 9pm local time in Doha, which means the opening whistle will sound at 4am AEST Friday September 3 in Australia. For those on the Western side of the country, that’s a 2am AWST kick-off.

How to watch the Australian Socceroos vs China
There is a new broadcaster for Socceroos friendlies and World Cup qualifying games with Channel Ten and Ten Play securing the rights to these matches.
Channel 10 can be found on free-to-air television or if you’d prefer to stream the action you can find the match on the 10 Play app which is available on mobile devices, internet browser or through various smart TVs.

Game information

Kick-off: 4am (AEST)
Venue: Khalifa International Stadium, Dohar (Qatar)
TV: Channel Ten
Online: Ten Play


Socceroos squad
Daniel Arzani, Ryan McGowan, Aziz Behich, Riley McGree, Martin Boyle, Aaron Mooy, Milos Degenek, Tom Rogic, Kenneth Dougall, Mathew Ryan (GK), Mitch Duke, Trent Sainsbury, Callum Elder, Brad Smith,
Denis Genreau, Harry Souttar, Rhyan Grant, Ryan Strain, Ajdin Hrustic, Adam Taggart, Jackson Irvine, Lawrence Thomas (GK), Paul Izzo (GK), Danny Vukovic (GK), James Jeggo, Bailey Wright, Awer Mabil