The Roar
The Roar


2021 AFL Draft

Malcolm Blight presents a guernsey to number one draft pick Jason Horne-Francis (Photo by James Elsby/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

The 2021 AFL Draft will take place on Wednesday, November 24. Check out the full draft order here.

2021 AFL Draft order

Round 1

Pick Club Player
1 North Melbourne Jason Horne-Francis
2 Western Bulldogs Sam Darcy
3 GWS Finn Callaghan
4 Collingwood Nick Daicos
5 Gold Coast Mac Andrew
6 Adelaide Josh Rachele
7 Hawthorn Joshua Ward
8 Fremantle Jye Amiss
9 Richmond Josh Gibcus
10 Fremantle Neil Erasmus
11 St Kilda Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
12 Port Adelaide Josh Sinn
13 Essendon Ben Hobbs
14 West Coast Campbell Chesser
15 GWS Leek Alleer
16 Brisbane Lions Darcy Wilmot
17 Richmond Tom Brown
18 Sydney Angus Sheldrick
19 Melbourne Jacob Van Rooyen
20 Brisbane Lions Kai Lohmann

Round 2

Pick Club Player
21 Fremantle Matt Johnson
22 North Melbourne Josh Goater
23 Hawthorn Sam Butler
24 Geelong Toby Conway
25 Geelong Mitch Knevitt
26 Hawthorn Connor MacDonald
27 Carlton Jesse Motlop
28 Richmond Tyler Sonsie
29 Richmond Sam Banks
30 Richmond Judson Clarke
31 West Coast Brady Hough
32 Geelong James Willis
33 St Kilda Mitchito Owens
34 Sydney Matthew Roberts
35 North Melbourne Paul Curtis
36 Adelaide Jake Soligo
37 West Coast Rhett Bazzo
38 North Melbourne Miller Bergman
39 Melbourne Blake Howes

Round 3

Pick Club Player
40 Sydney Corey Warner
41 Brisbane Lions James Tunstill
42 GWS Josh Fahey
43 Western Bulldogs Arthur Jones
44 Adelaide Zac Taylor
45 Collingwood Arlo Draper
46 Essendon Alastair Lord
47 St Kilda Marcus Windhager
48 Geelong Flynn Kroeger
49 Collingwood Cooper Murley
50 Essendon Garrett McDonagh
51 St Kilda Oscar Adams
52 Collingwood Harvey Harrison

Round 4

Pick Club Player
53 Hawthorn Jai Serong
54 Fremantle Eric Benning
55 Port Adelaide Hugh Jackson
56 Port Adelaide Dante Visentini
57 West Coast Jack Williams
58 Sydney Lachlan Rankin
59 North Melbourne Jackson Archer
60 Port Adelaide Jase Burgoyne
61 Western Bulldogs Luke Cleary
62 West Coast Greg Clark

Round 5 onwards

Pick Club Player
63 Gold Coast Charlie Constable
64 Geelong Cooper Whyte
65 Melbourne Taj Woewodin

Picks by club

Adelaide Crows 6, 36, 44
Brisbane Lions 16, 20, 41
Carlton 27
Collingwood 4, 45, 49, 52
Essendon 13, 46, 50
Fremantle 8, 10, 21, 54
Geelong Cats 24, 25, 32, 48, 64
Gold Coast Suns 3, 63
GWS 3, 15, 42
Hawthorn 7, 23, 26, 53
Melbourne 19, 39, 65
North Melbourne 1, 22, 35, 38, 59
Port Adelaide 12, 55, 56, 60
Richmond 9, 17, 28, 29, 30
St Kilda 11, 33, 47, 51
Sydney Swans 18, 34, 40, 58
West Coast 14, 31, 37, 57, 62
Western Bulldogs 2, 43, 61
Jamarra Ugle-Hagan of the Western Bulldogs in action.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan of the Western Bulldogs in action. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

Back in its VFL days, the national draft was introduced in 1981, allowing the Victorian teams to acquire interstate players depending on where they finished on the ladder.

It has since been expanded to include players from all locations, and is now the primary source of new talent for every AFL club.

The draft order is determined each year by awarding the clubs their draft picks in reverse finishing order – the club that finished last receives the first pick, and so on.


However, these picks can then change hands during the trade period and the final draft order is often quite different to the original one released after the end of the season.

After originally being held in 1981 and 1982, the draft was then not held again until 1986, but has been held in some form every year since.

For much of its early history, it was held in Victoria each year, but in recent times it has regularly been held interstate.

The draft was brought to the Gold Coast for the 2010 event, then to Sydney for 2011, and then returned to Gold Coast for several years, before being moved to Adelaide in 2015 and to Sydney again in 2016.

The draft has returned to Melbourne for 2018, however.

The No.1 draft pick is always a prized possession, though clubs have gotten smarter about using it in modern times than they were in the past.

1987 No.1 pick Richard Lounder, for example, only ever played four games for his club, Richmond. But in recent times No.1 picks like Nick Riewoldt, Luke Hodge and Adam Cooney have won premierships, Brownlows, and become legends of the game.

In the table below is every No.1 draft pick in VFL/AFL history, from 1981 onwards.

Draft Player Selected by Recruited from
1981 Alan Johnson Melbourne Perth (WAFL)
1982 Andrew Purser Footscray East Fremantle (WAFL)
1986 Martin Leslie Brisbane Bears Port Adelaide Magpies (SANFL)
1987 Richard Lounder Richmond Central District (SANFL)
1988 Alex McDonald Hawthorn Ballarat YCW (Ballart League)
1989 Anthony Banik Richmond Won Wron Woodside (Alberton League)
1990 Stephen Hooper Geelong East Perth (WAFL)
1991 John Hutton Brisbane Bears Claremont (WAFL)
1992 Drew Banfield West Coast Eagles Subiaco (WAFL)
1993 Darren Gaspar Sydney South Fremantle (WAFL)
1994 Jeff White Fremantle Dandenong Stingrays (TAC Cup)
1995 Clive Waterhouse Fremantle Port Adelaide Magpies (SANFL)
1996 Michael Gardiner West Coast Eagles Claremont (WAFL)
1997 Travis Johnstone Melbourne Dandenong Stingrays (TAC Cup)
1998 Des Headland Brisbane Lions Subiaco (WAFL)
1999 Josh Fraser Collingwood Murray Bushrangers (TAC Cup)
2000 Nick Riewoldt St Kilda Southport Sharks (QAFL)
2001 Luke Hodge Hawthorn Geelong Falcons (TAC Cup)
2002 Brendon Goddard St Kilda Gippsland Power (TAC Cup)
2003 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs West Adelaide (SANFL)
2004 Brett Deledio Richmond Murray Bushrangers (TAC Cup)
2005 Marc Murphy Carlton Oakleigh Chargers (TAC Cup)
2006 Bryce Gibbs Carlton Glenelg (SANFL)
2007 Matthew Kreuzer Carlton Northern Knights (SANFL)
2008 Jack Watts Melbourne Sandringham Dragons (TAC Cup)
2009 Tom Scully Melbourne Dandenong Stingrays (TAC Cup)
2010 David Swallow Gold Coast Suns East Fremantle (WAFL)
2011 Jonathon Patton GWS Giants Eastern Ranges (TAC Cup)
2012 Lachie Whitfield GWS Giants Dandenong Stingrays (TAC Cup)
2013 Tom Boyd GWS Giants Eastern Ranges (TAC Cup)
2014 Paddy McCartin St Kilda Geelong Falcons (TAC Cup)
2015 Jacob Weitering Carlton Dandenong Stingrays (TAC Cup)
2016 Andrew McGrath Essendon Sandringham Dragons (TAC Cup)
2017 Cam Rayner Brisbane Lions Western Jets (TAC Cup)
2018 Sam Walsh Carlton Geelong Falcons (TAC Cup)
2019 Matt Rowell Gold Coast Suns Oakleigh Chargers (NAB League)
2020 Jamarra Ugle-Hagan Western Bulldogs Oakleigh Chargers (NAB League)
2021 Jason Horne-Francis North Melbourne South Adelaide (SANFL)

More AFL content