The Roar
The Roar


AFL Ladder and standings: 2019

Willie Rioli of the Eagles celebrates a goal during the 2018 AFL Second Preliminary Final match between the West Coast Eagles and the Melbourne Demons at Optus Stadium on September 22, 2018 in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Carson/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Here is the full AFL ladder for the 2019 premiership, which will take place across 23 regular season rounds starting in March and ending in September.

The 2019 AFL Finals will be played across four consecutive weekends, beginning on Friday, August 30, and concluding with the 2019 AFL Grand Final on Saturday, September 28.

» View the complete AFL fixture for the 2019 season

2019 AFL ladder

For the full 2019 AFL ladder, click here.

The AFL Ladder explained
For every match a team wins, they are awarded four points. A draw yields two points for both sides, while a team is awarded zero points for a loss.

If two or more teams share an identical amount of points (P), then their positions on the AFL ladder are determined by percentage (Pct).


A team’s percentage is based on their total number of ‘points for’ (PF) compared to their total number of ‘points against’ (PA).


For example, if a team has scored a total of 200 points and had a total of 400 points scored against them, their percentage would be 50 per cent.

If a team has scored twice as many points as they have had scored against them, their percentage would be 200 per cent.


AFL ladder history
The current AFL finals system and AFL ladder has been in place since 2000, and has been so successful at promoting fair contests through the finals it was copied by the NRL in 2011.

Under the current system, the top four play each other in the first week of the finals, as do the second four.

The winners of the matches played between first and fourth and second and third go into the third week of the finals, while the losers get another chance the week after.

The winners of the matches between fifth and eighth and sixth and seventh go into the second week to face the losers from the top four clashes, while the losers are eliminated.

The minor premiers in the regular season have gone on to win the premiership on six occasions since the current system was introduced 15 years ago.


More AFL Content