The Roar
The Roar


AFLX 2019 live scores, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
22nd February, 2019

Show Preview

Marvel Stadium is yet again set to host the modified version of Australian rules football, AFLX. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the event, starting from 7pm (AEDT).

The AFL has decided to go with a slightly different approach this time around.

Last year was the first time the AFLX competition was played, and it was played with the 18 clubs that play within the home-and-away AFL season.

The 18 sides played across three different venues, meaning three sides claimed AFLX silverware.

The Melbourne Demons, the Adelaide Crows and the Brisbane Lions went on to claim silverware from the AFLX competition in 2018, but this year the AFL has scrapped the clubs and introduced four all-star teams.

Certain players from across the competition have been recruited to one of the four teams. This will also be a one-off event in Melbourne, unlike last year where it was played across three different venues.

The first squad assembled is Team Deadly, which will be captained by Eddie Betts. They possess players such as Bradley Hill, Tim Kelly, Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti and of course, Betts.

The power and pace is the clear strength within the squad, and no doubt, the other three sides will struggle to match those attributes.

The second squad assembled is Team Flyers, which will be captained by Nat Fyfe.


The Flyers enter the night as favourites, and when you see the squad they have assembled, it is not difficult to see why.

Marcus Bontempelli, Scott Pendlebury and Fyfe are just three of what is an impressive list.

Elite skills and experience are two attributes which standout when discussing this team, and they no doubt will be looking to use that to their advantage on the night.

The third list assembled is Jack Riewoldt’s Team Rampage. There is also an array of skill and class within this side.

Patrick Cripps, Shaun Higgins and Riewoldt will be hoping to lead the way for their side.

The final team that has been assembled is Team Bolts, which will be captained by Patrick Dangerfield.

Luke Hodge, Steele Sidebottom and Dangerfield will be doing their best to show why their side does not deserve to be the underdogs.

There is definitely enough talent on display across all four teams, which will hopefully lead to a solid spectacle.


It is difficult to predict who the winner will be, simply because this is only the second time the AFLX format has been scheduled, and the teams are different to those of last year.

However, if I were to predict a winner, it would have to be Team Deadly. Betts’ squad just appear to have similar attributes to Melbourne’s 2018 AFLX squad, and they were one of the three sides to claim silverware.

They possess speed and raw talent, which will prove too much for the other sides.

Team Deadly to be crowned champions.

Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the event, starting from 7pm (AEDT).

When: 7:10pm (AEDT)
Where: Marvel Stadium, Melbourne
TV: Channel 7, Fox Footy
Betting: Team Deadly $3.50, Team Flyers $3.25, Team Rampage $3.50, Team Bolts $4.50

Fixtures (AEDT)
7.10pm: Bolts vs Rampage
7.37pm: Bolts vs Deadly
8.04pm: Deadly vs Flyers
8.31pm: Rampage vs Flyers
8.58pm: Rampage vs Deadly
9.25pm: Bolts vs Flyers
9.57pm: AFLX Grand Final

Team Deadly (squad)
Eddie Betts (captain), Shaun Burgoyne (vice-captain), Bradley Hill, Jarrod Harbrow, Tim Kelly, Jack Martin, Travis Varcoe, Jade Gresham, Lewis Jetta, Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, Nathan Wilson, Willie Rioli, Sam Powell-Pepper, Cameron Ellis-Yolmen.


Team Flyers (squad)
Nat Fyfe (captain), Marcus Bontempelli (vice-captain), Scott Pendlebury, Alex Rance, Callan Ward, Isaac Heeney, Stephen Coniglio, Rory Laird, Travis Boak, Lachie Hunter, Aliir Aliir, Michael Hurley, Josh P Kennedy, Jack Higgins.

Team Rampage (squad)
Jack Riewoldt (captain), Patrick Cripps (vice-captain), Lachie Whitfield, Rory Sloane, Phil Davis, Dayne Zorko, Jared Polec, Lachie Weller, Easton Wood, Bayley Fritsch, Dylan Shiel, Shaun Higgins, Tim Membrey, Zac Fisher.

Team Bolts (squad)
Patrick Dangerfield (captain), Luke Hodge (vice-captain), Tom Hawkins, Steele Sidebottom, Mark Blicavs, Andrew Gaff, Luke Parker, Jaidyn Stephenson, Andrew McGrath, Jack Billings, Daniel Rich, Jack Steele, Jamie Macmillan, Tom Rockliff.

Hide Preview