The Roar
The Roar


AS IT HAPPENED: Dees destroy Lions in masterful finals performance

28th August, 2021
Live Comments



Match Complete

Brisbane Lions


MEL93 : 60BRI

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
28th August, 2021
2550 Reads



Match Complete

Brisbane Lions


Fourth Quarter
K. Pickett31:57
25:06J. Prior
C. Petracca20:51
C. Petracca18:42
M. Gawn15:23
A. Brayshaw13:32
10:19C. Cameron
B. Fritsch6:55
4:36L. McCarthy
B. Fritsch1:50
19:34H. McCluggage
14:59C. Cameron
6:39Z. Bailey
A. Neal-Bullen3:03
B. Brown2:08
30:57C. Cameron
B. Fritsch25:04
C. Petracca24:02
C. Petracca23:09
T. McDonald22:01
20:29J. Lyons
C. Spargo18:51
K. Pickett14:34
E. Langdon12:33
L. Jackson11:00
L. Jackson9:56
6:40J. Berry
B. Fritsch3:47
E. Langdon29:04
26:00C. Cameron
C. Oliver24:37
C. Spargo23:22
19:14Z. Bailey
K. Pickett16:39
B. Fritsch15:12
12:55J. Daniher
T. Sparrow10:14
8:49C. Cameron
4:48C. Cameron
B. Brown0:37

Show Preview

The Melbourne Demons and Brisbane Lions will face off in the First Qualifying Final tonight, looking to follow Port Adelaide’s lead into a home preliminary final. Tune into this clash from South Australia right here on The Roar with live scores and rolling coverage from 7:30pm (AEST).

Oddly, this is the first finals meeting between the Demons and Lions. Melbourne claimed the minor premiership in thrilling fashion thanks to a Max Gawn kick after the siren in Round 23; while Brisbane slipped into fourth in an equally exciting finish to grab the double chance.

Melbourne is on course to break a 57-year premiership drought and can book a preliminary final berth with a win over the Lions. It’s been a stellar season with 18 wins, plus cleaning up all the end of year football awards. Clayton Oliver took out the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year, Luke Jackson was crowned the 2021 Rising Star, and Max Gawn was named captain of the All-Australian team, one of five Demons named.

The Demons come into this match having won their last four matches, while holding an 8-2 record against the top eight teams this year. The Lions have gone 7-3 in their last ten, and have started to hit their straps in recent weeks. Their last three wins were by impressive margins — 64 (Fremantle), 85 (Collingwood), and 38 (West Coast).

The last time these two clubs played each other was in June, with the Demons overcoming a sluggish first quarter to win by 22 points.

For the Lions, Charlie Cameron will play his 150th and Harris Andrews and Mitch Robinson come back into the team. The Demons are unchanged.


Melbourne has had all the answers so far this season. Whenever they’ve been challenged, they have answered. They seem to have too many match-winners — Gawn, Oliver, Christian Petracca, Kysaiah Pickett and even Jackson, just to name a few — that will overwhelm the Lions when the game is up for grabs. It will be a tough encounter but Melbourne should get the job done by 19 points. There’s more at stake for them.

Catch all the action on The Roar‘s live coverage of this crunch clash from 7:30 pm (AEST), and don’t forget to leave your thoughts in the comments section below.


Game information

Opening bounce: 7:30pm (AEST)
Venue: Adelaide Oval
TV: Channel Seven, Fox Footy
Live stream: Kayo Sports, Foxtel Now, Foxtel Go
Betting: Demons $1.73, Lions $2.10 (odds via PlayUp)


Melbourne Demons
B: 24 Trent Rivers, 1 Steven May, 35 Harrison Petty
HB: 17 Jake Bowey, 8 Jake Lever, 3 Christian Salem
C: 10 Angus Brayshaw, 5 Christian Petracca, 15 Ed Langdon
HF: 7 Jack Viney, 25 Tom McDonald, 9 Charlie Spargo
F: 31 Bayley Fritsch, 50 Ben Brown, 30 Alex Neal-Bullen
FOL: 11 Max Gawn (c), 13 Clayton Oliver, 36 Kysaiah Pickett
I/C: 4 James Harmes, 6 Luke Jackson, 32 Tom Sparrow, 44 Joel Smith
EMG: 2 Nathan Jones, 14 Michael Hibberd, 18 Jake Melksham, 23 James Jordon

Brisbane Lions
B: 27 Darcy Gardiner, 31 Harris Andrews, 37 Brandon Starcevich
HB: 10 Daniel Rich, 24 Marcus Adams, 14 Grant Birchall
C: 7 Jarrod Berry, 33 Zac Bailey, 6 Hugh McCluggage
HF: 15 Dayne Zorko (c), 25 Daniel McStay, 11 Lincoln McCarthy
F: 23 Charlie Cameron, 3 Joe Daniher, 12 Nakia Cockatoo
FOL: 46 Oscar McInerney, 17 Jarryd Lyons, 9 Lachie Neale
I/C: 5 Mitch Robinson, 18 Keidean Coleman, 20 Jaxon Prior, 21 Tom Fullarton
EMG: 13 Tom Berry, 36 Rhys Mathieson, 38 Connor Ballenden, 40 Jack Payne
IN: Harris Andrews, Mitch Robinson
OUT: Callum Ah Chee, Ryan Lester

Hide Preview