The Roar
The Roar


Australia vs Sri Lanka: Second T20 match results, highlights

30th October, 2019
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Australia



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
30th October, 2019
1854 Reads


Match Complete

Sri Lanka


Australia win by 9 wickets

0/18 (1.0) *De Silva O: 13.0 Warner* 60 (41)
0/33 (4.0) Sandakan RR:7.78 Smith 53 (36)
c. Perera b. Malinga0.3
Finch 0(1)
First Innings: Sri Lanka117 all outRR: 5.28O: 19.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Sri Lanka 117 all out RR: 5.28 O: 19.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M.D. Gunathilaka

b. Stanlake

21 22 2 1 95.45

B.K.G. Mendis

run out (Agar)

1 4 0 0 25.00

W.I.A. Fernando

c. Cummins b. Agar

17 16 1 0 106.25

M.D.K.J. Perera+

b. Agar

27 19 2 1 142.11

D.P.D.N. Dickwella

c. Turner b. Cummins

5 3 1 0 166.67

M.D. Shanaka

c. Carey b. Stanlake

1 3 0 0 33.33

P.W.H. De Silva

st. Carey b. Zampa

10 11 0 0 90.91

I.U. Tillakaratna

c. Richardson b. Cummins

10 14 0 0 71.43

P.A.D.L.R. Sandakan

run out (Cummins)

10 14 1 0 71.43

S.L. Malinga*

st. Carey b. Zampa

9 5 2 0 180.00

A.N.P.R. Fernando

not out

2 3 0 0 66.67


(b 0, lb 1, w 3, nb 0)

Total 117  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
K.W. Richardson 3.0 0 17 0 5.67
B.J. Stanlake 4.0 0 23 2 5.75
P.J. Cummins 4.0 0 29 2 7.25
A.C. Agar 4.0 0 27 2 6.75
A. Zampa 4.0 0 20 2 5.00
First Innings: Australia 1/118 RR: 7.78 O: 13.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

D.A. Warner

not out

60 41 9 0 146.34

A.J. Finch*

c. Perera b. Malinga

0 1 0 0 0.00

S.P.D. Smith

not out

53 36 6 0 147.22

G.J. Maxwell


A.J. Turner


A.T. Carey+


A.C. Agar


P.J. Cummins


K.W. Richardson


A. Zampa


B.J. Stanlake



(b 0, lb 2, w 3, nb 0)

Total 118  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
S.L. Malinga 3.0 0 23 1 7.67
A.N.P.R. Fernando 3.0 0 26 0 8.67
P.W.H. De Silva 1.0 0 18 0 18.00
I.U. Tillakaratna 2.0 0 16 0 8.00
P.A.D.L.R. Sandakan 4.0 0 33 0 8.25

Show Preview

Match results:

Australia have picked up a commanding nine-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in the second T20 match, securing a series victory.

Final score
Sri Lanka: 10/117 (19)
Australia: 1/118 (13)

Match preview

Australia will look to keep their dominant start to the summer of cricket going when they take on Sri Lanka in the second T20 at the Gabba. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage of the match from 7:10pm (AEDT).

The home side had a dominant win in the opening match of the campaign, and will be looking for more of the same as they head to a humid Brisbane.

These conditions will probably suit the Sri Lankans even less than Adelaide, with the pitch likely to provide something for the fast bowlers, and the humid conditions likely to make the first couple of overs with the ball critical.

That being said, veteran skipper Lasith Malinga will hold the keys to their performance, with spinners often not having their way on the Gabba in short form cricket.

If Malinga and Kasun Rajitha can’t get early wickets, then the Aussie top order of David Warner and Aaron Finch, who both found some form at the Adelaide Oval, could go big once again.


They are coming off a performance which guided Australia to a mammoth and unchangeable score of 233, while the bowlers were also strong.

It’s be fair to say the Aussie bowlers haven’t really been tested yet though, given the score being chased by the tourists left absolutely no pressure.

There will also be a change for this game, with Mitchell Starc out to attend his brother’s wedding. It means that Billy Stanlake is likely to come into the starting XI for the home side.

The only real intrigue outside of the bowling for the Aussies is whether their middle order will be tested. Steve Smith, not known as a great T20 player, is still yet to have a bat in national colours on Australian soil since his suspension came to an end, while the form of Ashton Turner, Alex Carey and Ashton Agar are all unknown quantities.

Australia come into this match as red-hot favourites, just like they did in Adelaide. Brisbane hands them conditions which suit, and they should run away with victory once more.

Be sure to join The Roar for live coverage of this second T20 between Australia and Sri Lanka in Brisbane, and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information

First ball: 7:10pm (AEDT)
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
TV: Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Cricket Australia Live App
Betting: Australia $1.20, Sri Lanka $4.50
Umpire: Gerard Abood, Paul Wilson


Australia squad
Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka squad
Lasith Malinga (c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha

Hide Preview