The Roar
The Roar


Big Bash League final: Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars live scores, blog

8th February, 2020
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Melbourne Stars



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
8th February, 2020
1947 Reads

Sydney Sixers

Match Complete

Melbourne Stars


1/18 (3.0) *Hazlewood O: 12.0 Coulter-Nile* 19 (8)
0/14 (2.0) Dwarshuis RR:6.93 Larkin 38 (26)
c. Abbott b. O'Keefe8.5
Gotch 8(9)
lbw. Lyon6.2
Dunk 11(9)
run out (Smith)4.1
Handscomb 6(8)
lbw. O'Keefe2.4
Maxwell 5(4)
c. Vince b. Hazlewood1.4
Maddinson 0(4)
c. Abbott b. Lyon0.4
Stoinis 10(4)
First Innings: Sydney Sixers5/116RR: 8.29O: 12.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Sydney Sixers 5/116 RR: 8.29 O: 12.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

J.R. Philippe+

b. Zampa

52 29 4 3 179.31

J.M. Vince

c. Coulter-Nile b. Worrall

2 9 0 0 22.22

S.P.D. Smith

c. Handscomb b. Maxwell

21 12 2 1 175.00

M.C. Henriques*

b. Zampa

7 6 0 0 116.67

D.P. Hughes

lbw. Maxwell

0 1 0 0 0.00

J.C. Silk

not out

27 15 1 1 180.00

S.A. Abbott


B.J. Dwarshuis


S.N.J. O'Keefe


N.M. Lyon


J.R. Hazlewood



(b 0, lb 3, w 4, nb 0)

Total 116  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
D.J. Worrall 2.0 0 14 1 7.00
N.M. Coulter-Nile 2.0 0 22 0 11.00
H. Rauf 3.0 0 36 0 12.00
A. Zampa 3.0 0 24 2 8.00
G.J. Maxwell 2.0 0 17 2 8.50
First Innings: Melbourne Stars 6/97 RR: 6.93 O: 12.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M.P. Stoinis

c. Abbott b. Lyon

10 4 1 1 250.00

N.J. Maddinson

c. Vince b. Hazlewood

0 4 0 0 0.00

G.J. Maxwell*

lbw. O'Keefe

5 4 1 0 125.00

N.C.R. Larkin

not out

38 26 2 2 146.15

P.S.P. Handscomb

run out (Smith)

6 8 0 0 75.00

B.R. Dunk

lbw. Lyon

11 9 0 1 122.22

S.E. Gotch+

c. Abbott b. O'Keefe

8 9 0 0 88.89

N.M. Coulter-Nile

not out

19 8 1 1 237.50

A. Zampa


D.J. Worrall


H. Rauf



(b 0, lb 0, w 0, nb 0)

Total 97  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
N.M. Lyon 2.0 0 19 2 9.50
J.R. Hazlewood 3.0 0 18 1 6.00
S.N.J. O'Keefe 3.0 0 27 2 9.00
S.A. Abbott 2.0 0 19 0 9.50
B.J. Dwarshuis 2.0 0 14 0 7.00

Show Preview

The ninth Big Bash League season comes down to this: the Sydney Sixers hosting the Melbourne Stars at the SCG on Saturday night. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the match from 7:15pm AEDT.

A 56-match regular fixture and five-game finals series wraps up tonight, and for the first time two teams will meet for a fourth time in a season.

The Sydney Sixers have had an eight-day break to prepare for their home final after beating the Stars by 43 runs last Friday.

In a dominant display on the MCG the Sixers put 142 runs on the board, which seemed a little short, but they followed up by taking ten wickets to bowl Melbourne out for 99 runs in 18 overs. The bowling attack will have to fire again tonight for the Sixers to get the job done.

Melbourne earnt a second chance by finishing at the top of the table, and they responded well, defeating the Sydney Thunder by 28 runs on Thursday night to move through to the final.

Marcus Stoinis and Nick Larkin starred with the bat, scoring 83 runs each, while Haris Rauf once again struck with ball in hand.

The Sixers have not made any changes to the squad that beat the Stars in the qualifier last Friday night at the MCG.

Melbourne has made one change, with Jonathan Merlo joining the squad to replace Dilbar Hussain.

The rain predicted could put a dampener on tonight’s affair, with a high chance of heavy showers predicted all day and up to 80mm expected.


The DLS method will be used if a shortened game is required, which means both sides must bat for five overs for a result. If the game is washed out, the Sydney Sixers will be awarded the BBL|09 champion trophy as hosts of this final.

The four BBL finals played this season have been won by the team batting first, supporting the belief that runs on the board in a final is crucial.

The Stars showed on Thursday that they can get the job done in a final. They might have choked in the first, but they redeemed themselves in the second.

In a reduced-overs match, as we are likely to get, anything can happen. However, it’s hard to go past the form of the Sixers over the month. They have won their past five matches, which include two against Melbourne.

Sydney Sixers to win.

Follow all the action on The Roar from the first ball at 7:15pm (AEDT).

Game information

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
First ball: 7:15pm AEDT
TV: Channel Seven, Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Odds: Sydney Sixers $1.85, Melbourne Stars $1.95


Sydney Sixers squad
Moises Henriques (c), Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Ben Dwarshuis, Josh Hazlewood, Dan Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Steve Smith, James Vince

Melbourne Stars squad
Glenn Maxwell (c), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Peter Handscomb, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Nic Maddinson, Jonathan Merlo, Haris Rauf, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa

Hide Preview