The Roar
The Roar


Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers: BBL cricket live scores, blog

12th January, 2020
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Sydney Sixers



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
12th January, 2020

Melbourne Stars

Match Complete

Sydney Sixers


Melbourne Stars win by 44 runs

1/30 (3.0) *Morris O: 20.0 Bird* 6 (4)
1/43 (4.0) Rauf RR:7.50 Dwarshuis 42 (17)
c. Cartwright b. Morris18.1
Silk 32(31)
c. Rauf b. Hinchliffe13.5
Avendano 4(5)
st. Gotch b. Lamichhane12.2
Curran 3(5)
c. Larkin b. Hinchliffe10.3
Henriques 41(25)
c. Maxwell b. Hinchliffe8.4
Vince 16(16)
c. Worrall b. Rauf3.6
Hughes 20(13)
c. Gotch b. Worrall0.4
Philippe 6(4)
First Innings: Melbourne Stars1/219RR: 9.39O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: Melbourne Stars 1/219 RR: 9.39 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M.P. Stoinis

not out

147 79 13 8 186.08

H.W.R. Cartwright

c. Silk b. Curran

59 40 6 3 147.50

G.J. Maxwell*

not out

5 2 1 0 250.00

B.R. Dunk


S.E. Gotch+


N.C.R. Larkin


C.D. Hinchliffe


D.J. Worrall


L.R. Morris


H. Rauf


S. Lamichhane



(b 0, lb 3, w 4, nb 1)

Total 219  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
J.M. Bird 4.0 0 29 0 7.25
S.N.J. O'Keefe 4.0 0 32 0 8.00
B.J. Dwarshuis 4.0 0 61 0 15.25
T.K. Curran 4.0 0 58 1 14.50
L.A.J. Pope 3.0 0 25 0 8.33
M.C. Henriques 1.0 0 11 0 11.00
First Innings: Sydney Sixers 7/175 RR: 7.50 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

J.R. Philippe+

c. Gotch b. Worrall

6 4 1 0 150.00

D.P. Hughes

c. Worrall b. Rauf

20 13 2 1 153.85

J.M. Vince

c. Maxwell b. Hinchliffe

16 16 1 0 100.00

M.C. Henriques*

c. Larkin b. Hinchliffe

41 25 4 2 164.00

J.C. Silk

c. Cartwright b. Morris

32 31 1 0 103.23

T.K. Curran

st. Gotch b. Lamichhane

3 5 0 0 60.00

J. Avendano

c. Rauf b. Hinchliffe

4 5 0 0 80.00

B.J. Dwarshuis

not out

42 17 3 3 247.06

J.M. Bird

not out

6 4 1 0 150.00

S.N.J. O'Keefe


L.A.J. Pope



(b 0, lb 2, w 3, nb 0)

Total 175  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
D.J. Worrall 3.0 0 28 1 9.33
G.J. Maxwell 2.0 0 17 0 8.50
H. Rauf 4.0 0 43 1 10.75
L.R. Morris 3.0 0 30 1 10.00
S. Lamichhane 4.0 0 35 1 8.75
C.D. Hinchliffe 4.0 0 20 3 5.00

Show Preview

All eyes will be on this top-of-the-table clash between the Melbourne Stars and Sydney Sixers at the MCG on Sunday evening. Join The Roar for live coverage, with live scores and a blog of the match from 7:10pm (AEDT).

The Stars return to the top of the ladder after another Melbourne derby win against the Renegades.

Glenn Maxwell was again star of the show. The all-rounder made 83* to steer – or rather, smash – his team to victory. Earlier in the night, two wickets each to Nathan Coulter-Nile and Sandeep Lamichhane helped restrict the Renegades to an achievable 168-run total.

After a win in Coffs Harbour, Sydney continued their form against the Strikers, securing another two-wicket win. The magenta side chased down the modest total set by the Strikers with eight deliveries to spare.

Tom Curran’s bowling was much more successful on Wednesday, taking four wickets.

The Melbourne Stars have made two changes for this match. Nathan Coulter-Nile has been rested, while Sam Elliott has been dropped.

Jackson Coleman and Jonathan Merlo take their places in the 13-man squad.

Captain Moises Henriques returns to the Sixers team for the away trip, after missing the two clashes against the Strikers to be present for the birth of his son. He takes the place of Josh Hazlewood, who has travelled to India for national duties with the Australian ODI team.

These teams last met at the end of the BBL08 regular season, when the Stars moved onto finals with a dominant victory over the Sixers.


Maxwell made 82 runs as Melbourne put 168 on the board. A three-wicket haul for Sandeep Lamichhane and two each for Daniel Worrall and Adam Zampa helped their side bowl Sydney out for 74.

It will be an important bat flip to win on Sunday evening, as batting second is the preferred option at the MCG. Starting in the field is the best chance the Sixers have of continuing their winning form.

Either way, though, the Stars will feel confident on their home deck. With a batting performance of 70 or so from one of the top-order players, and some neat bowling by Lamichhane in the absence of Zampa, Melbourne should remain on top of the BBL09 standings.

Melbourne Stars to win.

Join The Roar for all the action from 7:10pm (AEDT).

Game information

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Time: 7:10pm (AEDT)
TV: Channel 7, Fox Cricket
Online: Kayo Sports, Foxtel
Odds: Melbourne Stars $1.56, Sydney Sixers $2.44
Last time: Stars won by 94 runs (BBL08)

Melbourne Stars squad
Hilton Cartwright, Jackson Coleman, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Clint Hinchliffe, Sandeep Lamichhane, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell (c), Jonathan Merlo, Haris Rauf, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall


Sydney Sixers squad
Justin Avendano, Jackson Bird, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques (c), Dan Hughes, Ben Manenti, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Slik, James Vince

Hide Preview