The Roar
The Roar


New Zealand vs Pakistan: T20 World Cup semi-final live scores, blog

Roar Rookie
9th November, 2022
Live Comments

Match Complete

First Innings: Pakistan



Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Rookie
9th November, 2022
1219 Reads

New Zealand

Match Complete



Pakistan win by 7 wickets

0/24 (3.1) *Southee O: 19.1 Ahmed* 0 (0)
1/26 (4.0) Santner RR:6.90 Khan 3 (4)
c. Allen b. Santner18.6
Haris 30(26)
c. Phillips b. Boult16.6
Rizwan 57(43)
c. Mitchell b. Boult12.4
Azam 53(42)
First Innings: New Zealand4/152RR: 6.51O: 20.0

Show Full Scoreboard

Hide Full Scoreboard

First Innings: New Zealand 4/152 RR: 6.51 O: 20.0
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

F.H. Allen

lbw. Afridi

4 3 1 0 133.33

D.P. Conway+

run out (Khan)

21 20 3 0 105.00

K.S. Williamson*

b. Afridi

46 42 1 1 109.52

G.D. Phillips

c+b. Nawaz

6 8 1 0 75.00

D.J. Mitchell

not out

53 35 3 1 151.43

J.D.S. Neesham

not out

16 12 1 0 133.33

M.J. Santner


I.S. Sodhi


T.G. Southee


L.H. Ferguson


T.A. Boult



(b 2, lb 4, w 0, nb 0)

Total 152  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
S.S. Afridi 4.0 0 24 2 6.00
N. Shah 4.0 0 30 0 7.50
H. Rauf 4.0 0 32 0 8.00
M. Wasim 2.0 0 15 0 7.50
S. Khan 4.0 0 33 0 8.25
M. Nawaz 2.0 0 12 1 6.00
First Innings: Pakistan 3/153 RR: 6.90 O: 19.1
Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR

M. Rizwan+

c. Phillips b. Boult

57 43 5 0 132.56

M.B. Azam*

c. Mitchell b. Boult

53 42 7 0 126.19

M. Haris

c. Allen b. Santner

30 26 2 1 115.38

S.M. Khan

not out

3 4 0 0 75.00

I. Ahmed

not out

0 0 0 0 0.00

M. Nawaz


S. Khan


S.S. Afridi


N. Shah


H. Rauf


M. Wasim



(b 4, lb 3, w 3, nb 0)

Total 153  
Bowlers O M R W Ec
T.A. Boult 4.0 0 33 2 8.25
T.G. Southee 3.1 0 24 0 7.58
L.H. Ferguson 4.0 0 37 0 9.25
M.J. Santner 4.0 0 26 1 6.50
I.S. Sodhi 4.0 0 26 0 6.50

Show Preview

The T20 World Cup semi-finals are here, and it’s set to be a great game when New Zealand clash with Pakistan at the SCG. Follow all the action on The Roar with live scores and commentary from 7pm (AEDT).

New Zealand and Pakistan have both experienced vastly different routes to the semi-finals. The Black Caps set the marker down at the start of the tournament with a crushing win over Australia, while Pakistan endured heartbreaking losses off the last ball to both India and Zimbabwe to start their tournament.

However, both teams have played consistently good cricket and deserve this opportunity.

New Zealand and Pakistan are unlikely to make any changes to their team. There is plenty of star factor in both playing XIs; Glenn Phillips has been brilliant for New Zealand batting in the middle order and is dynamite in the field, while Shadab Khan is likewise someone Pakistan often look toward to swing the game in their favour.

He did exactly that against South Africa. He came into bat with the score at 5/65 and belted an impressive 52 runs off 22 deliveries to take the game away from the Proteas.

Since New Zealand’s first outing against Australia, both these teams have struggled with opening partnerships. It won’t get any easier as both teams are blessed with strong bowling options. New Zealand are more swing-oriented, with Trent Boult and Tim Southee; whereas for Pakistan Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Wasim comprise a lethal pace quartet.

New Zealand have the advantage when it comes to spinners; Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi have been in good form this tournament.

Kane Williamson and Shaheen Afridi were both awarded player of the match awards in their last outings respectively. It is important to have key players peaking at the right time.


I feel Pakistan is doing that, so I’m predicting them to win – but it will be very close.

Game information

Venue: SCG
First ball: 7pm (AEDT)
TV: Fox Cricket, 9Gem
Live stream: Kayo Sports, Foxtel Go, 9Now
Odds: New Zealand $1.77, Pakistan $2.05 – odds via PlayUp


New Zealand

Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.



Babar Azam (c), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir.

Hide Preview