The Roar
The Roar


NRL State Championship match result: Newtown Jets vs Burleigh Bears

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
6th October, 2019
3643 Reads


NRL State Championship 2019
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Homebush
Match time: Fulltime
Newtown JetsvsBurleigh Bears
1Penalty goals0
0Field goals0

Show Preview

Match result:

For the second time in as many weeks the Newtown Jets have stolen a trophy at the death, winning the State Championship by scoring a try in the final play of the match.

Final score
Newtown Jets 20
Burleigh Bears 16

Match preview:

The first match of NRL grand final day will see the Newtown Jets and Burleigh Bears slug it out for the right to be crowned national reserve grade winners in the State Championship. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 1:35pm (AEDT).

In a change from last year’s schedule list on the biggest day of the rugby league calendar, the State Championship will this year open proceedings.

While Newtown have never made it to this match before, the Bears have prior experience, but were demolished 54-12 by the Illawarra Cutters (now the St George Illawarra Dragons) in 2016.

The Jets took out a thrilling New South Wales Cup decider last Sunday when they overcome a gallant Wentworthville Magpies outfit in extra time with some stunning attack through the final ten minutes.

The Cronulla Sharks-feeder side are littered with fringe first-grade talent, and possess strike weapons all over the park, however, it’s Jack Williams and Braydon Trindall who lead the way for this side in the halves.


They work off a strong tempo set in the forwards though, with Scott Sorensen, Jayson Bukuya and Billy Magoulias all having first grade experience, and Blayke Brailey, who will be Cronulla’s first-choice hooker next year, lining up in the nine for Newtown.

It’s the outside backs where they possess the weapons to pile on points though, with Sione Katoa, Aaron Gray, Ronaldo Mulitalo and Tyrone Phillips all more than capable, while William Kennedy, who made his NRL debut during the year, chimes in from the back.

The Bears meanwhile, had a fairly comfortable grand final win over the Wynnum-Manly Seagulls last weekend, but there is plenty of work for them to do.

No side from Queensland has won this match since 2015 when the Ipswich Jets were able to do so.

While the Burleigh Bears have some solid Gold Coast Titans, most notably the freakish Anthony Don on the wing, and Dylan Pythian in the halves, as well as a strong front row of Luke Page and Jack Buchanan, it’s fullback Kurtis Rowe who has the potential to break this game open.

He was phenomenal last week against Wynnum and has had an excellent season, so his work around tired ruck defenders at the back end of each half will be the one to watch is Burleigh are to sneak over the line.

The New South Wales Cup sides have dominated this contest for the last couple of years, and it’s hard to see that changing. Newtown have talent all over the pack and a phenomenal backline.

Jets by 14.


Be sure to join The Roar for live coverage of the NRL State Championship for 2019 from 1:35pm (AEST) and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information

Kick-off: 1:35pm (AEDT)
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Homebush
TV: Live, Fox League 502 and Channel 9
Online: Live, Kayo Sports, Foxtel App, Foxtel Now, 9Now, NRL Digital pass
Referees: Todd Smith, Tyson Brough


Newtown Jets
1. Will Kennedy 2. Sione Katoa 3. Aaron Gray 4. Ronaldo Mulitalo 5. Tyrone Phillips 6. Jack Williams 7. Braydon Trindall 8. Toby Rudolf 9. Blayke Brailey 10. Jaimin Jolliffe 11. Scott Sorensen 12. Jayson Bukuya 13. Billy Magoulias
Interchange: 14. Teig Wilton 16. Siosifa Talakai 19. Matt Evans 23. Daniel Vasquez 15. Jackson Ferris 18. Luke Poiselli 20. Grant Garvey 21. Wesley Lolo

Burleigh Bears
1. Kurtis Rowe 2. Tyrone Roberts-Davis 3. Sami Sauiluma 4. Joshua Berkers 5. Anthony Don 6. Dylan Phythian 7. Jamal Fogarty 8. Luke Page 9. Pat Politoni 10. Jack Buchanan 11. Hayden Schwass 12. Blake Leary 13. Sam Coster
Interchange: 14. Matt Robinson 15. Joshua Rogers 16. Oliver Percy 17. Apiata Noema-matenga 18. Jeff Lynch 19. Josh Ailaomai

Hide Preview