The Roar
The Roar


As it happened: How Ireland vs Scotland unfolded

7th October, 2023
Live Comments

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
7th October, 2023
2551 Reads

Show Preview

Everything is on the line in Paris, with Ireland – the world No.1 nation – needing to beat Scotland or risk a shock exit. Join The Roar for live coverage from 5.45am AEDT.

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made two changes to his starting side, with Iain Henderson coming into the second row for James Ryan, and Dan Sheehan taking over at hooker from Ronan Kelleher. Flanker Peter O’Mahony will win his 100th Ireland cap.

Scotland have picked themselves up after their opening round defeat to South Africa to record two bonus point wins in a row and give themselves a shot at the last eight. To get there, they have to beat Ireland – something they haven’t managed since 2017.

Second-row Grant Gilchrist, scrum-half Ali Price and right-wing Darcy Graham retain their places in the starting XV after the 84-0 win over Romania, in Gregor Townsend squad, with captain Jamie Ritchie returning at blindside flanker.

Johnny Sexton of Ireland plays a pass ahead of Cristian Chirica and Iulian Hartig of Romania during the Rugby World Cup France 2023 match between Ireland and Romania at Nouveau Stade de Bordeaux on September 09, 2023 in Bordeaux, France. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)
Johnny Sexton will be up against Finn Russell in the battle of the two playmakers in Paris. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

The key match-up is between the two playmakers, with Johnny Sexton up against Finn Russell in one of the battles of the World Cup.

Venue: Stade de France, Paris.

Kickoff: 6am AEDT.


Streaming: Stan Sport


Ireland (1-15): Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong, Tadhg Beirne, Iain Henderson, Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson-Park, Johnny Sexton (c), James Lowe, Bundee Aki, Garry Ringrose, Mack Hansen, Hugo Keenan

Replacements: Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, James Ryan, Jack Conan, Conor Murray, Jack Crowley, Stuart McCloskey

Scotland (1-15): Pierre Schoeman, George Turner, Zander Fagerson; Richie Gray, Grant Gilchrist; Jamie Ritchie (c), Rory Darge, Jack Dempsey, Ali Price, Finn Russell, Duhan van der Merwe, Sione Tuipulotu, Huw Jones, Darcy Graham, Blair Kinghorn.

Replacements: Ewan Ashman, Rory Sutherland, WP Nel, Scott Cummings, Matt Fagerson, Luke Crosbie, George Horne, Ollie Smith.

Hide Preview