The Roar
The Roar


Springboks vs Ireland highlights: Boks by 6

18th June, 2016


Scores updated each minute. REFRESH NOW

South Africa Vs. Ireland

2016 South Africa v Ireland, 19 June, 2016

Ellis Park Stadium
South Africa 32 defeated Ireland 26
South Africa Ireland
0/0 DROP GOAL 0/0
Top scorers:
  • South Africa - Jantjies
  • E 12pts (3C 2G)
Important moments:
  • South Africa took the lead at the 76 min. mark 2nd half
  • Jantjies, E (SAF) penalty goal at the 81 min. mark 2nd half
Referee: A Gardiner
Touch judges: G Jackson & B Whitehouse
Kickoff: 1:00am (AEST), 5:00pm local
Venue: Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Referee: Angus Gardner (AUS)
TV: Live FoxSports 5 from 12:50am (AEST)
Betting: South Africa $1.26, draw $26, Ireland $3.85

South Africa
15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Warren Whiteley, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Ruan Combrinck

15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Rhys Ruddock, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Quinn Roux, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath

Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Donnacha Ryan, 20 Sean Reidy, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Tiernan O’Halloran
The Springboks are conceding too many historic losses. (David Davies/PA Wire)
18th June, 2016
9925 Reads

Match result:

South Africa took a much-needed six-point win over Ireland in a come-from-behind victory early on Sunday morning (AEST), scoring Allister Coetzee’s first win as coach.


Final score
South Africa 32
Ireland 26

Match preview:

South Africa are looking to bounce back from a historic loss this morning, taking on Ireland inside Johannesburg. Follow all the live highlights and action from 1:05am (AEST) on The Roar.

Winning their first ever game on South African soil to open the series, Ireland ground out a beautiful victory over the Springboks with just 14 men, following a CJ Stander red card in the first half.

A frustrated Boks side failed to capitalise on their chances with the lion’s share of possession in field position in their pocket, a failed trait that skipper Adriaan Strauss is well aware of coming into the second Test.

“We need to right the wrong,” Strauss said, “It’s about our own standards. We have the ability to be better and have a much higher expectation of ourselves.”


The South Africans have been hit with the injury stick coming into this one, with coach Allister Coetzee making five changes to his squad, four of them forced.

Lood de Jager and Pat Lambie are the two alterations to the starting 15, being ruled out with calf and concussion issues respectively. They will be replaced by Pieter-Steph du Toit at lock and Elton Jantjies at fly half.

Meanwhile on the bench, Franco Mostert and Ruan Combrink are set to make their international debuts, joining veteran Morne Steyn as inclusions to the match day squad.

For Ireland, coach Joe Schmidt has also made five changes to his side, including three new bloods making their debut, Quinn Roux, Sean Reidy and Tiernan O’Halloran.

South Africa have their tails tucked between their legs after the shock loss in the first Test, but you can expect a renewed, more aggressive Boks outfit to take the fight back at the Irish.

In saying that, Ireland have a top notch squad that have proven toughness on the international stage, and confidence that’s riding high.

Ireland have a very real chance at sealing the series here this morning, but it should be the Boks that get the win at home in a close one.

South Africa to win by 9


Can South Africa return serve after the first test? Or will Ireland make history once again with a big win on the road? Follow all the live highlights and action from 1:05am (AEST) on The Roar.