The Roar
The Roar


Bathurst 1000 highlights: Davison wins after thrilling finish

9th October, 2016
Start: 11am (AEDT)
Track: Mount Panorama Circuit, Bathurst
Lap length: 6.213km
Laps: 161
Race length: 1000km
TV: Live, Network Ten and Fox Sports 505
Betting: Whincup/Dumbrell $3, Van Gisbergen/Premat $5, Lowndes/Richards $6.50, Mostert/Owen #7

Starting grid
1. Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell (Red Bull Racing Australia #88)
2. Scott McLaughlin/David Wall (Wilson Security Racing GRM #33)
3. Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen (Supercheap Auto Racing #55)
4. Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden (DJR Team Penske #12)
5. Tim Slade/Ash Walsh (Freightliner Racing #14)
6. Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore (Nissan Motorsport #23)
7. Shane van Gisbergen/Alex Prémat (Red Bull Racing Australia #97)
8. Garth Tander/Warren Luff (Holden Racing Team #2)
9. Scott Pye/Tony D’Alberto (DJR Team Penske #17)
10. MarkWinterbottom/Dean Canto (The Bottle-O Racing Team #1)
11. Jason Bright/Andrew Jones (Team BOC #8)
12. Chris Pither/Richie Stanaway (Superblack racing #111)
13. Cameron Waters/Jack Le Brocq (Monster Energy Racing #6)
14. David Reynolds/Craig Baird (Erebus Motorsport #9)
15. Lee Holdsworth/Karl Reindler (Preston Hire Racing #18)
16. James Courtney/Jack Perkins (Holden Racing Team #22)
17. Will Davison/Jonathon Webb (Team Darrel-Lea STIX #19)
18. Dale Wood/David Russell (GB Galvanising Racing #96)
19. Todd Kelly/Matt Campbell (Carsales Racing #7)
20. Rick Kelly/Russell Ingall (Sengled Racing #15)
21. Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards (Vortex Racing #888)
22. 222 Nick Percat/Cameron McConville
23. James Moffat/James Golding (Wilson Security Racing GRM #34)
24. Tim Blanchard/Macauley Jones (Team Cooldrive #21)
25. Andre Heimgartner/Aaren Russell (Plus Fitness Racing #3)
26. Simona de Silvestro/Renee Gracie (Harvey Norman Supergirls #360)
27. Shae Davies/Chris van der Drift (Erebus Motorsport #4)
The Bathurst 1000 is upon us. (Photo: v8 Supercars)
9th October, 2016
23792 Reads

Race result:

Will Davison won the 2016 edition of the Bathurst 1000 in a dramatic finish after Jamie Whincup was hit with a 15-second penalty.

All the wash-up from a dramatic Bathurst:
» Whincup and Holden appeal result
» Match report: Will Davison wins Bathurst 1000
» Complete finishing order – every car, every driver

Race preview:

Jamie Whincup will look to continue holding off the rest of the field and take out his fifth Peter Brock trophy when the greatest race in Australian motorsport, the Bathurst 1000, takes place at Mount Panorama. Join The Roar for live coverage of the 161-lap marathon from 11am (AEDT).

The weekend so far, which has included six practice sessions, qualifying and the top ten shootout has seen Jamie Whincup relinquish control and stamp his authority as the fastest car on the mountain.

While all that becomes redundant today, starting in first position and knowing exactly how quick his car is will be of great advantage for the four-time champion.

He set a blistering speed yesterday to grab pole, knocking Scott McLaughlin out of first – although McLaughlin will still start from the front row of the grid.

Qualifying though, for a 1000 kilometre race, has very little bearing on what will take place over the course of the day and there are plenty of drivers who misses the top ten to look out for.


Shane Van Gisbergen and Mark Winterbottom, both at the bottom end of the top ten, have shown good pace at times over the weekend, while Cameron Waters who is coming from 13th position shouldn’t be overlooked.

While Craig Lowndes has struggled for speed across the course of the weekend, regularly struggling to get up the leaderboard, he can never be passed off as a non-challenger on race day, and on the tenth anniversary of his great mate Brock’s death he will be keener than ever to make something happen.

If Chaz Mostert, who has had pace at different points at this weekend as well won from the back of the grid two years ago, then Lowndes coming from 21st has a chance.

Fortunately for the drivers, there is no rain forecast for the big race and so strategies should be roughly down the straight and narrow in terms of pit stops and driver changes.

Of course, over such a long race plenty of things can happen and go wrong, but it won’t be like Sandown where we were seeing decisions about whether to go on wets or dry tyres – this is Bathurst though and a weather forecast is a weather forecast – not the gospel.

It’s incredibly hard to go past Jamie Whincup here. He and Dumbrell have been exceptionally quick and I can’t see them getting beaten. Fabian Coulthard, Van Gisbergen and Winterbottom are the ones to contend for the other spots on the podium.

Be sure to join The Roar for our live coverage all day of the great race, starting at 11am (AEDT) and don’t forget to get involved by dropping a comment in the box below.

Follow Scott on Twitter @sk_pryde