NRL will name a new Immortal in 2018

Josh Elliott Editor

By Josh Elliott, Josh Elliott is a Roar Editor


16 Have your say

    Six retired stars will join the NRL’s Hall of Fame in 2018 according to CEO Todd Greenberg, and ‘up to two’ existing Hall-of-Famers may be elevated to Immortal status.

    Greenberg confirmed a new program for adding to the Hall of Fame and elevating members to Immortal status on Monday, with the possibility that as many as two players can receive the game’s highest honour in any four-year block.

    Although nothing is certain just yet, names like Darren Lockyer and Mal Meninga have been amongst the most often mentioned in the conversation about who could be next to receive the honour.

    Current players like Johnathan Thurston and Cameron Smith would also appear to be likely candidates, but not until some time after their playing careers have concluded.

    “Without question, one of the biggest topics in rugby league revolves around comparisons between heroes of our game… whether it’s players from decades ago or those from the modern era,” said Greenberg.

    “This year, we will induct an additional six players into a new NRL Hall of Fame.

    “They will join the 100 Greats – named in our Centenary year ten years ago – who gain automatic induction into the NRL Hall of Fame as the Charter Class.

    “We will also relaunch the Immortals, with up to two players being given the ultimate honour in our game, every four years.

    “And the first of those new Immortals will be chosen this year.“

    Josh Elliott
    Josh Elliott

    Josh Elliott may be The Roar's Weekend Editor, but at heart he's just a rusted-on North Melbourne tragic with a penchant for pun headlines - and also abnormal alliteration, assuredly; assuming achievability. He once finished third in a hot chilli pie eating contest. You can follow him on Twitter @JoshElliott_29 and listen to him on The Roar's AFL Podcast.

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (16)

    • Roar Guru

      March 19th 2018 @ 12:13pm
      spruce moose said | March 19th 2018 @ 12:13pm | ! Report

      Hmm, I’m not a fan of the proposed 2 every four years quota.

      There are some candidates who may die before they get the nod as a result and that would be an insult. They deserve to have the accolade bestowed upon them while alive and in control of their faculties.

      While I support the trend that Mal Meninga is the next immortal, it would be hard to overlook people like Norm Provan (85 years old) and Johnny Raper (78 years old) – and then a damn insult if they were to get it posthumously when it was clear and obvious that they could have received the honour living but denied because of a quota.

      • March 19th 2018 @ 1:46pm
        badger said | March 19th 2018 @ 1:46pm | ! Report

        Johnny Raper already is an Immortal

    • Roar Guru

      March 19th 2018 @ 12:51pm
      Riley Pettigrew said | March 19th 2018 @ 12:51pm | ! Report

      It will be Dally Messenger and Mal Meninga. Now that players from pre-WWII are allowed to be accepted, we will see those players acknowledged before the likes of Lockyer, Thurston, Smith, etc.

      In any case I don’t think it would be wise for the NRL to induct Lockyer to both the Hall of Fame and Immortals in the same year.

      What I would like to see is for players to have been retired for at least 10 years before being named as an Immortal so then we can actually say that they have had an enduring legacy on the game.

    • March 19th 2018 @ 3:18pm
      Big Daddy said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:18pm | ! Report

      One thing about this is it should be a happy occasion.
      Greenberg wouldn’t smile if you shoved a red hot poker up him.
      This bloke is devoid of personality.
      Getting back to the subject Ken Irvine has to be a shoe in.
      No one has ever achieved any thing like what he has and it was a 12 team comp.

      • Roar Guru

        March 19th 2018 @ 3:35pm
        Cadfael said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:35pm | ! Report

        When he set his try scoring record, it was only a 10 team comp.

        • March 19th 2018 @ 3:39pm
          Big Daddy said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:39pm | ! Report

          Wasn’t 100% sure. But you probably right.

    • Roar Guru

      March 19th 2018 @ 3:34pm
      Cadfael said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:34pm | ! Report

      I would forget the Immortals. Leave it as it is now, no more additions. Add those players worthy of it to the Hall of Fame.

      • March 19th 2018 @ 3:40pm
        Big Daddy said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:40pm | ! Report

        Have to agree with you there as well.

    • Roar Guru

      March 19th 2018 @ 3:47pm
      BigJ said | March 19th 2018 @ 3:47pm | ! Report

      I honestly think that once they named Johns an immortal that stuffed up the thing. One the named him only five years after his retirement and they have been at least four players better than him come along since. Smith, Lockyer Cronk and Thurston. Not to mention langer was better than johns ever was. The only difference was that Joey could kick a goal where langer never did. Plus johns personal recreational activities should of excluded him. But provan and meninga to be next

      • March 19th 2018 @ 4:39pm
        Anthony 'Choc' Mundine said | March 19th 2018 @ 4:39pm | ! Report

        I agree Big J, declaring Andrew Johns as an Immortal was the second biggest mistake they made after not nominating me.

        • Roar Guru

          March 19th 2018 @ 4:39pm
          Con Scortis said | March 19th 2018 @ 4:39pm | ! Report

          Haha, I crack myself up!

        • Roar Guru

          March 19th 2018 @ 8:22pm
          BigJ said | March 19th 2018 @ 8:22pm | ! Report

          Tell me choc have you read the articles I have written about you?? Your top ten fights, crossover athletes articles, your second fight with Danny Green. All excellent reads I recommend you have a look. Thats if your really choc Mundine of course

      • March 19th 2018 @ 11:28pm
        Sammy said | March 19th 2018 @ 11:28pm | ! Report

        Andrew Johns played in an era with so many champion players (1995 to 2006) and almost all of those players regarded him as the best player they had ever seen – not as influential as Wally Lewis, but the complete player, great vision, great passer and runner of the ball, great kicker, great in defense.

        Johns won 3 Dally Ms outright (not shared) and he should have won a 4th medal in 2005. That year he only played half the season yet he only missed the medal by 1 vote,,, to JT.

        Perhaps Thurston and Smith will end up achieving more and they will achieve immortal status in due course.

        But to deny Johns his immortal status simply because Smith and Thurston have played longer and won more State of Origins is ridiculous.

        • Roar Guru

          March 20th 2018 @ 10:28am
          BigJ said | March 20th 2018 @ 10:28am | ! Report

          Sammy never said that johns should be excluded because Jt and Smith have achieved more and played longer but due to the fact that the Nrl jumped the gun to early when naming him plus langer was better and there is about ten blokes that should of been named ahead of johns, meninga, provan, Irvine etc. plus Smith and Jt (well not for Jtd defensive skills earlier in his career) are way better than johns ever was

    • March 21st 2018 @ 10:29am
      Malo said | March 21st 2018 @ 10:29am | ! Report

      Don’t pick some irrelevant name from the 1890s , keep it modern otherwise it has no meaning.

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.