The Roar
The Roar


Origin 3 Final Teams: Fittler makes a change, Maroons as named

Brad Fittler will be livid that the squad was leaked. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)
11th July, 2018

The teams for State of Origin Game 3 have been confirmed an hour before kick-off, with the Queensland Maroons looking to restore pride when they take on the NSW Blues.

The NSW Blues have made a change with Jake Trbojevic replacing Jack De Belin in the starting side. De Belin will start on the bench.

More Origin 3
» Dead rubber? Game 3 proved there’s no such thing in Origin
» Seven talking points from Origin 3
» Queensland Maroons player ratings: Game 3
» NSW Blues player ratings: Game 3
» WATCH: All the highlights as Queensland send Billy Slater out a winner

Queensland have confirmed an unchanged line up from their original announcement last week.

While this year’s series may be wrapping up, there is still plenty of interest in tonight’s match.

Daly Cherry-Evans takes his spot in the number seven jersey ahead of Ben Hunt, who has been relegated to the bench.

It will be fascinating to see how the Manly halfback goes, as a strong performance may see him lock up the Queensland halfback position in the long term.

Billy Slater will captain the side as he runs out in the Maroon jumper for one final time while Corey Oates is a confirmed starter on the wing for Kevin Walters’ side.

Tim Glasby also makes his return to the Origin arena on the bench.


The Blues are also unchanged with Tariq Sims set to make his Origin debut in place of Matt Prior.

Final teams for State of Origin Game 2, 2018

New South Wales Blues
1. James Tedesco, 2. Tom Trbojevic, 3. Latrell Mitchell, 4. James Roberts, 5. Josh Addo-Carr, 6. James Maloney, 7. Nathan Cleary, 8. David Klemmer, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Paul Vaughan, 11. Boyd Cordner (c), 12. Tyson Frizell, 15. Jake Trbojevic

Interchange: 13. Jack De Belin, 14. Tariq Sims, 16. Angus Crichton, 17. Tyrone Peachey.

Queensland Maroons
1. Billy Slater (c), 2. Valentine Holmes, 3. Dane Gagai, 4. Will Chambers, 5. Corey Oates, 6. Cameron Munster, 7. Daly Cherry-Evans, 8. Jai Arrow, 9. Andrew McCullough, 10. Josh Papalii, 11. Gavin Cooper, 12. Felise Kaufusi, 13. Josh McGuire.

Interchange: 14. Ben Hunt, 15. Jarrod Wallace, 16. Coen Hess, 17. Tim Glasby.