The Roar
The Roar


Who is the best World Cup winning team ever?

The 2019 World Cup winners. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)
6th November, 2019

The Rugby World Cup may be done and dusted for 2019 but if you think we’ve recovered from our nasty bout of World Cup fever, you’re sorely mistaken.

South Africa picked up their third World Cup title – following triumphs in 1995 and 2007 – to join the All Blacks of 1987, 2011 and 2015, the Wallabies of 1991 and 1999 and England’s 2003 side as champions of world rugby.

But who was the very best? Which World Cup-winning side is the true champion of World Cup rugby?

We were joined on the Game of Codes podcast by Roar rugby expert Geoff Parkes to try and make a call on who the best ever World Cup-winning side is.

Listen to the debate:

For true rugby aficionados, it’s like picking between children, but we had to make a decision.

Do you give it to the 1987 All Blacks for their dominance at home? Or does the advantage of home soil put too much of an asterisk next to their name?

Does the might of the All Blacks from 2015 make them the pick? Does South Africa’s 1995 ‘bigger than rugby’ triumph qualify? Do the Wallabies or England get a run?

Visit our Game of Codes hub to catch the full episode and be sure to subscribe and review on iHeartRadio, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts or wherever else you’re listening.