The Roar
The Roar


What time do the Kookaburras play Germany in their Olympic men’s hockey semi-final tonight?

(Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images)
3rd August, 2021

They met in the semi-finals in London, and the Australian Kookaburras and Germany will clash again in Tokyo for the Olympic men’s hockey semi-final tonight.

After a thrilling penalty shootout win against the Netherlands in the quarter-final, courtesy of some heroic goalkeeping by Andrew Charter, the Kookaburras face their toughest challenge yet.

Germany are standing in their way and have won gold then bronze in their last two Olympic outings in the men’s field hockey.

Australian co-captain Aran Zalewski will appear for the 200th time but that will be far from his mind as the Kookaburras look to progress through to the gold medal match.

What time are the Kookaburras playing tonight?
Kookaburras vs Germany will start at 8pm AEST, which is 7pm local time in Tokyo. If you’re tuning in from the Western part of Australia, the Aussies will get underway at 6pm AWST.

How to watch the Australian Kookaburras vs Germany?
Channel 7 and 7plus hold the exclusive rights to the Tokyo Olympics and are the only places you can legally watch the Games.

Channel 7 will show the Kookaburras on their main free-to-air channel, which is channel 70 in metro areas. However, the broadcaster often switches between events during the coverage, so this semi-final clash could also be aired on 7mate, that’s channel 73 in metro areas.

Alternatively, you can live stream the Kookaburras vs Germany match online through the free 7plus. 7plus have an app for Android and Mac devices, available through the relevant app store for download. Though, you can also access 7plus directly through your internet browser.

Most smart TVs and gaming consoles allow you to reach the Olympic streaming service by searching for 7plus from the main application page. You can also stream the Australian Kookaburras in action on your TV via casting devices such as Chromecast.


Game information

Start time: 8pm (AEST)
Venue: Oi Hockey Stadium, Shinagawa City
TV: Channel Seven, 7mate
Online: 7plus


Daniel Beale, Joshua Beltz, Tim Brand, Andrew Charter, Thomas Craig, Matthew Dawson, Blake Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Dylan Martin, Trent Mitton, Edward Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Lachlan Sharp, Joshua Simmonds, Jacob Whetton, Tom Wickham, Aran Zalewski

Niklas Bosserhoff, Florian Fuchs, Benedikt Furk, Mats Grambusch, Johannes Grosse, Martin Haner, Tobias Hauke, Timm Herzbruch, Paul-Philipp Kaufmann, Linus Muller, Timur Oruz, Jan Ruhr, Alexander Stadler, Constantin Staib, Justus Weigand, Niklas Wellen, Lukas Windfeder, Martin Zwicker