The Roar
The Roar


The full list of F1 drivers and their teams racing in Melbourne at the Australian Grand Prix

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
9th April, 2022

While many Aussies stay up late to watch the Formula 1 during the season for the overseas races, there are some casual fans among us who tend to only tune in for the Australian event. We’re not here to judge which is why we’ve got a guide here for those tuning in for the first time in 2022.

There are 20 drivers competing at this year’s Australian Grand Prix. Sebastian Vettel and Mick Schumacher are the two big inclusions for the Australian race.

Vettel didn’t compete in the first two races of 2022 for Aston Martin after contracting Covid-19 while Mick Schumacher (son of legendary F1 driver Michael) missed the last race in Saudi Arabia after a massive crash in qualifying.

That means there are four World Champions in the field including Lewis Hamilton (7-times), Max Verstappen (1-time), Fernando Alonso (2-times) and Sebastian Vettel (4-times).


The only Australian driver in the field is Daniel Ricciardo who has so far struggled with McLaren after first signing with them last season.

2022 Australian Grand Prix Driver Pairings

Car No. Driver Team Driver Country
16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari Monaco
55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari Spain
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Netherlands
11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing Mexico
63 George Russell Mercedes Great Britain
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Great Britain
31 Estaban Ocon Alpine France
14 Fernando Alonso Alpine Spain
20 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team Denmark
47 Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team Germany
77 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Finland
24 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo China
4 Lando Norris McLaren Great Britain
3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Australia
22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Japan
10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri France
18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Canada
27 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Germany
23 Alexander Albon Williams Thailand
6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Canada

2022 Driver Standings after 2 Rounds

Driver Team Points
Charles Leclerc Ferrari 45
Carlos Sainz Ferrari 33
Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 25
George Russell Mercedes 22
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 16
Estaban Ocon Alpine 14
Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 12
Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 12
Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 8
Lando Norris McLaren 6
Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 4
Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 4
Fernando Alonso Alpine 2
Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo 1
Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team 0
Lance Stroll Aston Martin 0
Nico Hulkenberg (Sub driver) Aston Martin 0
Alexander Albon Williams 0
Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 0
Nicholas Latifi Williams 0
Sebastian Vettel (Yet to race) Aston Martin 0