The Roar
The Roar


Class of 2006 dominates as Football Australia names 'Team of the Century'

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
22nd September, 2022

Players from Australia’s 2006 World Cup campaign – the country’s footballing golden generation – dominate a Football Australia ‘team of the century’ named on Thursday.

Ten of the 23 players named to celebrate 100 years of Australian national team football were members of the team that made it to the second round in Germany before being beaten by Italy, while Guus Hiddink is named as the selection’s coach.

Tim Cahill and John Aloisi, who scored the goals in Australia’s dramatic win over Japan in the opening game, are in the selection, as is Lucas Neill, whose unfortunate foul presented Italy with their 1-0 win in Kaiserslautern.

The selection includes 1974 captain Peter Wilson and his better known teammate Johnny Warren, a legendary SBS broadcaster who died before the 2006 team qualified with a penalty shootout win against Uruguay

The selection was announced ahead of the Socceroos match against New Zealand in Brisbane.

Football Australia said more that 110,000 votes were cast to form the selection.

In addition to 16 fan selections, Football Australia’s Panel of Historians nominated seven additional players to be recognised in the team, which includes at least one representative from each era.

Tim Cahill

Tim Cahill. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)


FA said in a statement:.

“In goals the Socceroos’ ‘Team of the Century’ would be well-served with Mark SchwarzerMathew Ryan or Jimmy McNabb between the sticks.

“At the back, international attackers would dread coming up against defenders with the steel and skill of Scott ChipperfieldJoe MarstonCraig MooreLucas NeillAlex TobinTony Vidmar, and Peter Wilson.

“In midfield, Australia would possess class, composure, and creativity with Mark BrescianoBrett EmertonMile JedinakHarry Kewell, Aaron Mooy, and Johnny Warren pulling the strings.

“While in attack, goals would rain from the boots and heads of ace internationals including John AloisiTim CahillReg DateJohn KosminaJudy MastersAlf Quill, and Mark Viduka.

“Tactically and motivationally, the Socceroos’ ‘Team of the Century’ would be ready for any challenge, with Guus Hiddink as Coach, supported by assistants Ange PostecoglouGraham Arnold, and Rale Rasic – four men that have made outstanding contributions to the Australian game and the Socceroos’ FIFA World Cup story. “

Players: John Aloisi, Mark Bresciano, Tim Cahill, Scott Chipperfield, Reg Dat*, Brett Emerton, Mile Jedinak, Harry Kewell, John Kosmina*, Joe Marston*, Judy Masters*, Jimmy McNabb* (Gk), Craig Moore, Aaron Mooy, Lucas Neill, Alf Quill*, Mathew Ryan (Gk), Mark Schwarzer (Gk), Alex Tobin, Tony Vidmar, Mark Viduka, Johnny Warren, Peter Wilson*.


Head Coach: Guus Hiddink 

Assistant Coaches: Graham Arnold, Ange Postecoglou, Rale Rasic 

*Denotes player selected by Football Australia’s Panel of Historians