The Roar
The Roar


2019 WAFL Grand Final: Subiaco Lions vs South Fremantle Bulldogs match result, highlights, scores

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
22nd September, 2019
2678 Reads


2019 WAFL Grand Final
Venue: Optus Oval, Perth
Match time: Q4
Subiaco Lions South Fremantle Bulldogs
4.3.27 Q1 1.1.7
9.7.61 Q2 1.2.8
13.7.85 Q3 2.5.17
18.12.120 Q4 3.6.24

Show Preview

The Subiaco Lions will be hoping for back-to-back premierships when they host the South Fremantle Bulldogs in the 2019 WAFL Grand Final at Optus Stadium. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the match, starting from 4:40pm AEST.

The Lions will enter as clear favourites after another dominant WAFL season in which they won seventeen of their eighteen matches, and finished atop the ladder with a percentage of 186.

South Fremantle came in second on the table with 13 wins and a solid 128 percentage, but it wouldn’t be unfair to suggest much of the season has been a race to see who will come in second.

This match will mark Subiaco’s sixth consecutive WAFL Grand Final appearance. They’ve won three of five so far, losing in 2016 and 2017, to Peel Thunder on both occasions.

South Fremantle appear for the first time in ten years – their last grand final berth came in 2009, winning the premiership coincidentally enough against the team they will take on today.

The Lions will be led once again by captained Kyal Horsley, who played 14 games at AFL level for the Gold Coast Suns in 2012-13.

Their side also boasts 2019 Sandover Medallist Lachlan Delahunty, who pipped Horsley by just a single vote in the medal count earlier this week.

Ben Sokol also featured in the top ten of the medal count for Subiaco, while Haiden Schloithe in fifth was South Fremantle’s most prolific vote-getter.

There’s some ex-AFL talent on both sides, with Nick Suban – who played 158 games for Fremantle – the most notable, lining up for the Bulldogs.


The Bulldogs also have former Eagle Blayne Wilson and former Hawk Kade Stewart, as well as Mason Shaw, who spent two years on Port Adelaide’ list without playing a game.

Subiaco’s side includes former Swan Harry Marsh, former Hawk Angus Litherland, and Ben Newton, who played with both Port Adelaide and Melbourne at AFL level.

Join The Roar for live scores and a blog of the match, starting from 4:40pm AEST.

When: 2:40pm local, 4:40pm AEST
Where: Optus Oval
TV: Seven, live – WA only

Subiaco Lions
B: Angus Litherland, Jordan Lockyer, Kyle Stainsby
HB: Michael Braut, Aaron Heal, Drew Rhode
C: Justin Joyce, Kyal Horsley, Greg Clark
HF: Simon Moore, Ben Sokol, Rhys Waters
F: Harry Marsh, Ryan Borchet, Jack Beverley
Fol: Lachlan Delahunty, Leigh Kitchin, Ben Newton
Int: Jakob Atkinson, Tom Ed-Baldwin, Braden Fimmano, Kaiden Fullgrabe, Hayden Kennedy, Rowen Powell, Max Walters, Clancy Wheeler (three to be omitted)

South Fremantle Bulldogs
B: Blayne Wilson, Noah Strom, Adam McIntosh
HB: Glenn Byron, Chad Pearson, Shaun Bewick
C: Kyle Russell, Haiden Schloithe, Steve Verrier
HF: Matthew Ward, Zac Strom, Brandon Donaldson
F: Andrew Haydon, Mason Shaw, Kade Stewart
Fol: Brock Higgins, Dylan Main, Jacob Dragovich
Int: Zac Dent, Jake Florenca, Jason Maskos, Nick Suban

Hide Preview