Adelaide United

Adelaide UnitedJoining the A-League for its inaugural season in 2005/06 after being formed at the beginning of the final NSL season, Adelaide United surprised many by claiming the first Minor Premiership of the competition.

The club has built its reputation through consistency, regularly making finals appearances in the A-League. Their success came to a halt in the 2009/10 season, where they finished in a disappointing tenth position. Rini Coolen’s appointment as the team’s new manager for 2010/11 helped Adelaide become the first Australian club to climb from the bottom of the table into the top four.

The signing of Spanish coach Josep Gombau for the 2013-14 season continued United’s resurgance, and although Gombau left prior to the 2015-16 season, new coach Guillermo Amor continued his compatriot’s good work. Adelaide took home the Premier’s Plate after one of the most thrilling finishes to an A-League season, and then claimed their first ever championship by defeating the Western Sydney Wanderers 3-1 in the Grand Final.

2015-16 season: 1st, Champions

2016-17 squad: Eugene Galekovic, John Hall, Michael Marrone, Iacopo LaRocca, Dylan McGowan, Mark Ochieng, Ben Garuccio, Tarek Elrich, Jordan Elsey, Isaías, Marcelo Carrusca, George Mells, Jesse Makarounas, Ryan Kitto, Riley McGree, Henrique, Sergio Cirio, Marc Marino, Nikola Mileusnic, Jordan O’Doherty.

Coach: Guillermo Amor

The full 2016-17 A-League draw can be found here.

Think you know your A-League? Test your skills in our tipping competition.

Last updated: 22 September, 2016