The Roar
The Roar


Formula E 2022

Formula E (Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Formula E, officially the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, is a class of auto racing sanctioned by the FIA, and is the highest class of competitions for one make, single-seater, electrically powered racing cars. The series was conceived in 2012, and the inaugural championship started in Beijing in September 2014. The 2022 season will see 16 races across 10 different circuits around the world.

There are 11 teams, 22 drivers and 22 cars.

Racing circuits are located in cities and are approximately 2-3.4 kilometres long. The generators used to re-charge the batteries are powered by Glycerine, a by-product of biodiesel production.

The seventh Formula E season saw Nyck de Vries secure the drivers’ championship by seven points over Edoardo Mortara.

Mercedes scored their first constructors’ championship as well as they beat Jaguar Racing by just four points.

2022 Season Calendar

Date Round ePrix Circuit
Fri Jan 28 1 Diriyah ePrix Riyadh Street Circuit
Sat Jan 29 2
Sat Feb 12 3 Mexico City ePrix Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Circuit
Sat Apr 9 4 Rome ePrix Rome’s EUR Street Circuit
Sun Apr 10 5 Rome ePrix Rome’s EUR Street Circuit
Sat Apr 30 6 Monaco ePrix Circuit de Monaco
Sat May 14 7 Berlin ePrix Tempelhof Airport Circuit
Sat May 15 8 Berlin ePrix Tempelhof Airport Circuit
Sat Jun 4 9 Indonesia ePrix Jakarta Street Circuit
Sat Jul 2 10 Canada ePrix Vancouver Street Circuit
Sat Jul 16 11 New York ePrix Brooklyn Street Circuit
Sun Jul 17 12
Sat Jul 30 13 UK ePrix London Street Circuit
Sun Jul 31 14
Sat Aug 13 15 South Korea ePrix Seoul Street Circuit
Sun Aug 14 16

Full list of Formula E Champions

Season Driver Nation Team
2014-15 Nelson Piquet Jr. Brazil NEXTEV Team China Racing
2015-16 Sebastien Buemi Switzerland Renault e.dams
2016-17 Lucas di Grassi Brazil ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
2017-18 Jean-Eric Vergne France ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
2018-19 Jean-Eric Vergne France Techeetah
2019-20 Antonio Felix da Costa Portugal Techeetah
2020-21 Nyck de Vries Netherlands Mercedes-EQ Formula E

More Motorsport content