The Roar
The Roar


2019 Superbike World Championship

(GBR/ Honda). Photo: GEPA pictures/ Gold and Goose/ David Goldman

The Superbike World Championship is the world’s premier Superbike racing event, first held in 1988.

A series of rounds makes up the championship, with each round consisting of two race and, as of 2019, a ten-lap ‘Superpole’ race. The results of the races are combined at the end of the series to determine the winners of the driver’s championship, and the manufacturer’s championship.

The bikes are tuned versions of motorcycles available to the public, different from the MotoGP which uses purpose-built machines. While the MotoGP is alike to Formula One, the Superbike World Championship is more akin to sports car racing.

2019 Superbike World Championship

The 2019 season ran from February 23-October 26. It was the first season to introduce the third ten-lap sprint race to each round.

The 2019 Superbike Driver’s World Championship was won by Northern Ireland’s Jonathan Rea for the fifth straight year, with his team Kawasaki taking out the manufacturer’s championship for the fifth straight occasion and seventh overall.

Round Dates Country Circuits
1 Feb 23-24 Australia Phillip Island
2 Mar 16-17 Thailand Chang International Circuit
3 Apr 6-7 Spain Motorland Aragon
4 Apr 14 Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
5 May 11-12 Italy Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari
6 Jun 8-9 Spain Circuito de Jerez
7 Jun 22-23 Italy Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
8 Jul 6-7 England Donington Park
9 Jul 13-14 USA WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
10 Sep 7-8 Portugal Algarve International Circuit
11 Sep 28-29 France Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours
12 Oct 12-13 Argentina Circuito San Juan Villicum
13 Oct 25-26 Qatar Losail International Circuit

More Motorsport content