The Roar
The Roar


Wallaroos vs Black Ferns: Women's rugby Test match result, highlights

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
Roar Guru
10th August, 2019
1210 Reads


Scores updated regularly. REFRESH NOW

Australia vs New Zealand

2019 Laura O'Reilly Trophy, Game 1

Venue: Optus Stadium, Perth
Match time: Fulltime
Australia New Zealand
10 SCORE 47
2 Tries 8
0 Conversions 2
0 Penalty Goals 1
0 Drop Goals 0

Show Preview

Match result:

The Wallaroos have been thumped by 37 points in the opening game of the 2019 Larua O’Reilly Trophy by the Black Ferns in Perth.

Final score
Wallaroos 10
Black Ferns 47

Match preview

Coming off two pleasing wins against Japan, the Wallaroos take on the Black Ferns in Perth to kick off the Laurie O’Reilly trophy. Join The Roar for live scores and a blog from 5pm (AEST).

In what will be the first rugby union game at Optus Stadium, played as game one of the doubleheader, the Wallaroos face the toughest challenge in women’s rugby: beating the Black Ferns. Dwayne Nestor’s team have never won against New Zealand, but France showed us that it’s not impossible, upsetting them in San Diego.

New Zealand just competed and won the Women’s Rugby Super Series – a tournament which involves the five highest-ranked countries.

But the Wallaroos aren’t coming into it unprepared. They hosted Japan in a two-match series, and won both games. Admittedly Japan are a much lesser opponent than the Black Ferns, but playing competitive rugby is the best way to prepare for a game.

Australia struggled to find their rhythm in the game one, in what was their first appearance in almost a year, but developed combinations as the series went on.


In terms of winning the trophy, beating the Black Ferns in New Zealand will be a far tougher task than Perth, so a win here is critical. It would mark their first win from 16 encounters against their trans-Tasman rivals.

In team news, Georgia Cormick will start the game at halfback for Australia. Liz Patu comes into the run-on team, and Evelyn Horomia joins her in the front row.

The visitors have two potential debutants, in Olivia Ward-Duin and Kilisitina Moata’ane. Both start from the bench.

Les Elder will captain the team, and Kendra Cocksedge, who carved up the Wallaroos last series, will be the vice-captain.

The Australians will come much more prepared than last year. Dwayne Nestor would’ve studied the tape of France’s win over the kiwis, and he’ll have a good idea of where they’re vulnerable.

Grace Hamilton and Millie Boyle dominated the match at North Sydney, and if Australia are to win, they’ll both bring their A-game.

It’s hard to go past the world champions, New Zealand. The Wallaroos showed that they’ve got strike weapons against Japan, but they’ll need to be on song from the kickoff.

New Zealand by 8


Join The Roar for live scores and a blog from 5pm (AEST).

Time: 5pm (AEST)
Venue: Optus Stadium
Referee: Hollie Davidson
TV: Fox Sports, Kayo

1.Liz Patu
2. Averyl Mitchell
3. Evelyn Horomia
4. Michaela Leonard
5. Alisha Hewett
6. Millie Boyle (vc)
7. Emily Chancellor
8. Grace Hamilton (c)
9. Georgia Cormick
10. Trilleen Pomare
11. Lori Cramer
12. Ariana Hira Herangi
13. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea
14. Samantha Treherne
15. Mahalia Murphy

16. Ash Marsters
17. Emily Robinson
18. Christina Sekona
19. Rebecca Clough
20. Shannon Mato
21. Iliseva Batibasaga
22. Arabella McKenzie
23. Mhicca Carter

New Zealand
1. Toka Natua
2. Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate
3. Aleisha-Pearl Nelson
4. Eloise Blackwell
5. Charmaine Smith
6. Pia Tapsell
7. Les Elder (c)
8. Charmaine McMenamin
9. Kendra Cocksedge (vc)
10. Ruahei Demant
11. Ayesha Leti-I’iga
12. Chelsea Alley
13. Carla Hohepa
14. Renee Wickliffe
15. Selica Winiata (vc)

16. Forne Burkin
17. Leilani Perese
18. Olivia Ward-Duin
19. Joanah Ngan-Woo
20. Kennedy Simon
21. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu
22. Krysten Cottrell
23. Kilisitina Moata’ane

Hide Preview